Guide
Engineered muscle force: a normalised reference table
Published twitch and tetanic forces for engineered skeletal muscle, normalised to specific force in mN/mm² alongside cross-sectional area and stimulation protocol, with a citation on every row. The reference table for anyone writing a force specification.
A force specification written as a bare number in micronewtons is not a specification. Engineered muscle force scales with cross-sectional area, and constructs in the published literature differ in cross-section by more than four orders of magnitude — from about 4.5 × 10⁻⁵ mm² for a myotube on a cantilever to about 5.7 mm² for a rat myobundle. Two constructs producing the same absolute force can differ a thousand-fold in the quality of the muscle.
The comparable quantity is specific force: contractile force divided by cross-sectional area, expressed in mN/mm². That unit is numerically identical to kPa and to kN/m², all three of which appear in the literature. This page normalises published values into that unit, keeps the absolute force alongside it, and states the measurement platform and stimulation condition for every row.
The reference points to hold in your head
| Benchmark | Specific force | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Native adult human skeletal muscle | 150–250 mN/mm² | Stated as the comparison in Khodabukus et al. 2019 |
| Best reported engineered human muscle | 19.3 ± 0.63 mN/mm² after one week of 1 Hz chronic stimulation | Khodabukus et al. 2019 |
| Typical engineered human myobundle, unstimulated | 2.1 ± 0.9 mN/mm² twitch, 7.0 ± 2.2 mN/mm² tetanic, averaged across ten donors | Madden et al. 2015 |
| Typical C2C12 biohybrid actuator | “consistently below 2 mN/mm²” | Chen et al. 2026, characterising the prior literature |
| Best reported C2C12 actuator | 8.51 mN/mm² tetanic (7.05 mN absolute on 0.83 ± 0.15 mm²) | Chen et al. 2026 |
Engineered muscle is therefore, at its published best, roughly one tenth of native. Most of it is one fiftieth to one hundredth. Any specification that implicitly assumes native performance is outside the demonstrated envelope.
The normalised table
Rows marked [V] are drawn from the systematic normalisation published by Vesga-Castro and colleagues in eLife (2022), which recalculated specific force from reported dimensions across the literature; in that table several values were themselves recalculated or extracted from figures rather than read from text, and those caveats propagate here. The author-and-year labels on those rows are as given in that review, and we have not independently confirmed each primary paper’s DOI — the checkable citation for a [V] row is the review. Rows marked [P] were read directly from the primary paper by us, and those papers are listed individually in the sources below. Specific force is stated in mN/mm², equivalent to kPa.
Force transducer measurements — 3D constructs
| Construct / cell source | Time in culture | Cross-section | Twitch force | Twitch specific force | Tetanic force | Tetanic specific force | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rat myoblasts (adult) | Day 31 ± 4 | 0.188 mm² | 215 ± 26 µN | 1.14 mN/mm² | 440 ± 45 µN | 2.9 ± 0.5 mN/mm² | Dennis and Kosnik 2000 [V] |
| Rat myoblasts (EDL) | Day 32 ± 4 | 0.024 ± 0.009 mm² | 162 ± 125 µN | 6.75 mN/mm² | 281 ± 218 µN | 11.70 mN/mm² | Dennis et al. 2001 [V] |
| Rat myoblasts | 3 weeks | 0.0246 mm² | 329 ± 26.3 µN | 13.37 mN/mm² | 805.8 ± 55 µN | 32.75 mN/mm² | Huang et al. 2005 [V] |
| Rat myoblasts (neonatal), myobundle | Day 14 | 5.72 mm² (bundle) | 1680 ± 320 µN | 0.29 mN/mm² bundle; 5.5 ± 0.6 effective | 2840 ± 500 µN | 0.50 mN/mm² bundle; 9.4 ± 0.7 effective | Hinds et al. 2011 [V] |
| Rat myoblasts, myobundle | 2 weeks | 1.50 mm² bundle; 0.63 ± 0.05 mm² F-actin-positive | 17,830 ± 1000 µN | 11.89 mN/mm² bundle; 28.30 F-actin-positive | 28,800 ± 930 µN | 19.2 mN/mm² bundle; 43.39 ± 3.82 F-actin-positive | Juhas and Bursac 2014 [V] |
| Primary human myoblasts | 4 weeks | 4.91 mm² | 701 µN | 0.14 mN/mm² | 1460 µN | 0.30 mN/mm² | Madden et al. 2015 [V] |
| Primary human myoblasts | 2 weeks | 0.30 mm² | 1700 ± 130 µN | 5.70 mN/mm² | 3400 ± 180 µN | 11.40 mN/mm² | Khodabukus et al. 2019 [V] |
| hPSC-derived human myoblasts | 2 weeks | 0.14 mm² | 140 µN | 1.04 mN/mm² | 402 µN | 3.00 mN/mm² | Rao et al. 2018 [V] |
| hPSC-derived human myoblasts | 4 weeks | 0.06 mm² | 1393 ± 342 µN | 23.21 mN/mm² | 2924 ± 517 µN | 48.73 mN/mm² | Xu et al. 2019 [V] |
| C2C12 (mouse) | Day 14 | 0.756 mm² | 48.39 ± 3.49 µN | 0.06 mN/mm² | 47.74 ± 0.31 µN | 0.06 mN/mm² | Capel et al. 2019 [V] |
| C2C12 (mouse) | 10 days | 0.77 mm² | 1360 ± 210 µN | 1.77 mN/mm² | 1930 ± 120 µN | 2.50 mN/mm² | Akiyama et al. 2021 [V] |
| Primary human myoblasts | Day 17–19 | 1.51 mm² | — | — | 175 µN | 0.13 mN/mm² | Alave Reyes-Furrer et al. 2021 [V] |
Post / pillar deflection measurements
| Construct / cell source | Time in culture | Cross-section | Twitch force | Twitch specific force | Tetanic force | Tetanic specific force | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C2C12, optogenetic, on cantilever posts | Day 14 | 0.0125 mm² active; 0.0012 mm² effective | 1.4 µN (1.41 ± 0.25 µN in text) | 0.11 mN/mm² active; 1.12 effective | — | — | Sakar et al. 2012 [V][P] |
| C2C12 | Day 6 | 0.079 mm² | — | — | 57.5 ± 12.8 µN | 0.72 mN/mm² | Shimizu et al. 2017 [V] |
| Primary human myoblasts | Day 11 | 0.566 mm² | 79.44 µN | 0.14 mN/mm² | 428.57 µN | 0.76 mN/mm² | Mills et al. 2019 [V] |
| Myoblasts derived from human dermal fibroblasts | Day 4–10 | 0.120 mm² | — | — | 12.2 ± 5.3 µN | 0.10 mN/mm² | Shimizu et al. 2020 [V] |
| Primary human myoblasts | Day 7–14 | 0.395 mm² | — | — | 192 µN | 0.49 mN/mm² | Afshar et al. 2020 [V] |
| Immortalised human myoblasts | Day 8 | 0.125 mm² | — | — | 28.5 ± 10.5 µN | 0.23 mN/mm² | Nagashima et al. 2020 [V] |
| Immortalised human myoblasts | Day 7–14 | 0.17 ± 0.03 mm² | 200 ± 40 µN | 1.17 mN/mm² | 1100 ± 300 µN | 6.47 mN/mm² | Hofemeier et al. 2021 [V] |
| Immortalised human myoblasts | Day 10 | 0.189 mm² | 118.01 µN | 0.62 mN/mm² | 201.89 µN | 1.07 mN/mm² | Ebrahimi et al. 2021 [V] |
| iPSC-derived EMT, 1.92 N/m posts | Day 10 | not reported | 1156.3 ± 129.1 µN | not derivable | 2498.4 ± 58.3 µN | not derivable | Smith et al. 2022 [P] |
| iPSC-derived EMT, 1.44 N/m posts | Day 10 | not reported | 919.7 ± 185.3 µN | not derivable | — | — | Smith et al. 2022 [P] |
| iPSC-derived EMT, 0.96 N/m posts | Day 10 | not reported | 624.0 ± 154.6 µN | not derivable | — | — | Smith et al. 2022 [P] |
| Primary human myoblast EMT | Day 7 / 10 / 14 | not reported | 306.5 ± 22.2 / 468.8 ± 37.5 / 568.0 ± 103.7 µN | not derivable | 740.8 ± 91.3 / 1160.5 ± 118.8 / 1387.7 ± 275.7 µN | not derivable | Smith et al. 2022 [P] |
| iPSC-derived EMT, healthy control | Day 10 | not reported | 1319.9 ± 68.2 µN | not derivable | 1654.1 ± 97.6 µN | not derivable | Smith et al. 2022 [P] |
| iPSC-derived EMT, dystrophin-null (DMD model) | Day 10 | not reported | 414.4 ± 21.9 µN | not derivable | 267.2 ± 20.2 µN | not derivable | Smith et al. 2022 [P] |
Cantilever / thin-film measurements — 2D and micro-scale
| Construct / cell source | Time in culture | Cross-section | Twitch force | Twitch specific force | Tetanic force | Tetanic specific force | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C2C12 | Day 7 | 0.001308 mm² | 0.54 ± 0.02 µN | 0.41 mN/mm² | 1.01 ± 0.14 µN | 0.77 mN/mm² | Fujita et al. 2010 [V] |
| Rat myoblasts (embryonic) | Day 10–13 | 0.000176 mm² | 0.23 µN | 1.3 mN/mm² | — | — | Wilson et al. 2010 [V] |
| C2C12 | Day 6 | 0.0000851 mm² | 0.80 µN | 9.4 ± 4.6 mN/mm² | — | — | Sun et al. 2013 [V] |
| Primary human myoblasts | Day 23 | 0.000052 mm² | 0.14 µN | 2.69 mN/mm² | — | — | Smith et al. 2014 [V] |
| Human myoblasts | Day 3–6 | 0.0000767 mm² | 0.78 µN | 9.98 mN/mm² | — | — | Nesmith et al. 2016 [V] |
| Human iPSC-derived | Day 14 | 0.0000961 mm² | 0.38 µN | 3.98 mN/mm² | — | — | Badu-Mensah et al. 2020 [V] |
| Human iPSC-derived | Day 10–11 | 0.0000452 mm² | 0.12 ± 0.02 µN | 2.65 mN/mm² | — | — | Guo et al. 2020 [V] |
| Human iPSC-derived | Day 7–10 | 0.000265 mm² | 0.26 µN | 0.986 mN/mm² | 0.52 µN | 1.986 mN/mm² | Al Tanoury et al. 2021 [V] |
| Chick myoblasts | 3 weeks | 0.0000661 mm² | 1.44 µN | 21.89 mN/mm² | 3.31 µN | 50 mN/mm² | Santoso et al. 2021 [V] |
Biohybrid robot actuators specifically
| Construct | Cell source | Cross-section | Absolute force | Specific force | Stimulation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Self-trained muscle pair, OstraBot swimmer | C2C12 | 0.83 ± 0.15 mm² (H&E sections) | Twitch 4.21 mN; tetanic 7.05 mN | Twitch 5.08 mN/mm²; tetanic 8.51 mN/mm² | Electrical; full tetanus above 20 Hz; peak tetanic ~6.15 ± 0.67 mN at 20 Hz | Chen et al. 2026 [P] |
| Same platform, high-stiffness control | C2C12 | as above | ~3.70 ± 0.41 mN | — | 20 Hz | Chen et al. 2026 [P] |
| Same platform, low-stiffness control (the configuration the authors describe as most commonly adopted in biohybrid robotics) | C2C12 | as above | ~0.86 ± 0.18 mN | — | 20 Hz | Chen et al. 2026 [P] |
| Modular optogenetic bioactuator | C2C12, channelrhodopsin | not stated | up to 300 µN | 0.56 mN/mm² (stated as 0.56 kPa) | Optical, non-invasive | Raman et al. 2016 [P] |
| 3D muscle strip on microfabricated cantilevers | C2C12, optogenetic | 0.0125 mm² active | Active 1.41 ± 0.25 µN; static tension 10.8 ± 0.18 µN; all myotubes together 2.1 µN | Active stress 0.112 mN/mm²; passive 0.864; effective dynamic tension 1.12 | Optical, with selective single-myotube activation | Sakar et al. 2012 [P] |
| Modular actuators on compliant skeletons | Skeletal muscle | not stated | up to 2.09 mN; stroke to 10.56% of rest length | not derivable | Electrical | Yang et al. 2025, bioRxiv preprint [P] |
| Whole insect dorsal vessel microrobot | Insect dorsal vessel tissue | not stated as an area | 20 µN for the whole tissue (4.7 µN in the authors’ earlier work) | not derivable | None — spontaneous, room temperature | Akiyama et al. 2012 [P] |
How to read this table without misleading yourself
Cross-section is measured inconsistently, and it changes the answer by more than the cell source does. The clearest illustration is Juhas and Bursac 2014: the same rat myobundle gives 11.89 mN/mm² tetanic when normalised to total bundle cross-section and 43.39 ± 3.82 mN/mm² when normalised to the F-actin-positive fraction — a 3.6-fold difference from a definitional choice. Hinds et al. 2011 shows the same effect: 0.50 mN/mm² by bundle cross-section against 9.4 ± 0.7 mN/mm² effective. When you compare two published specific forces, first check whether both used total cross-section.
Measurement platform sets the accessible range. Vesga-Castro and colleagues give the reported working ranges: roughly 0.02–3.31 µN for cantilevers, 1.4 µN to 1.1 mN for micro-posts, and 18 µN to 30 mN for force transducers. A cantilever cannot measure a myobundle and a transducer cannot resolve a single myotube. Comparing across platforms compares partly the platforms.
Absolute force without cross-section is not normalisable. The Smith 2022 rows illustrate this honestly — they are among the most useful absolute measurements in the field, on a commercial platform, but the paper does not report tissue cross-sectional area alongside the force values, so no specific force can be derived and we have not invented one.
Anchor stiffness is part of the measurement. In the same study, day-10 twitch force fell from 1156.3 ± 129.1 µN at 1.92 N/m post stiffness to 624.0 ± 154.6 µN at 0.96 N/m, and at 0.16 and 0.48 N/m the posts bent so far under passive tension that active contraction could not be resolved at all. A force number without an anchor stiffness is incomplete.
Twitch and tetanic are different measurements. Tetanic-to-twitch ratios in the normalised literature run roughly from 1 to over 5, and the ratio itself carries information about maturation. Specifying “500 µN” without saying whether that is twitch or tetanic leaves a factor of two to five undefined.
What moves specific force
Ranked by the size of the documented effect:
Chronic electrical stimulation. The largest single lever. One week of intermittent 1 Hz stimulation increased tetanic force approximately three-fold in human myobundles and roughly doubled specific force, from 9.1 ± 0.38 to 19.3 ± 0.63 mN/mm²; a 10 Hz protocol gave 18.9 mN/mm², statistically comparable. The stimulated result is the highest specific force reported for engineered human muscle. The same paper notes that stimulated myobundles showed decreased fatigue resistance, so the improvement is not free.
Mechanical loading during maturation. Chen and colleagues’ self-training approach — muscle pairs loaded against each other during differentiation — produced 7.05 mN tetanic against 3.70 mN for a high-stiffness control and 0.86 mN for the low-stiffness configuration they describe as most commonly used in biohybrid robotics. That is an eight-fold spread within one cell source from maturation mechanics alone.
Time in culture, up to a plateau. iPSC-derived engineered muscle tissues increased from 385.8 ± 51.1 µN twitch at day 7 to 1156.3 ± 129.1 µN at day 10, then plateaued at 943.1 ± 162.1 µN by day 14 with no further improvement. Primary human myoblast tissues in the same study were still rising at day 14. Culturing longer is not reliably better and can be worse.
Media composition. In the same work, 2% horse serum throughout produced greater force development than reverting to 15% fetal bovine serum after day 7, or than a serum-free knockout serum replacement formulation.
Cell source. Real but secondary. The highest specific forces in the normalised table come from hPSC-derived human myoblasts (Xu et al. 2019, 48.73 mN/mm² tetanic on a 0.06 mm² cross-section) and from rat myobundles normalised to the myotube-positive fraction — but the C2C12 range alone spans 0.06 to 8.51 mN/mm², which overlaps almost everything else.
Writing a force specification that is answerable
A specification that a supplier or collaborator can actually quote against needs all seven of these:
- Twitch or tetanic, stated explicitly.
- Absolute force, with units.
- Cross-sectional area, either as a requirement or as the basis on which force will be normalised — and which definition of cross-section applies.
- Anchor stiffness, or the geometry that determines it.
- Stimulation protocol at which the force must be demonstrated: waveform, amplitude, frequency, pulse width.
- Timepoint at which the measurement is taken, and whether the construct must still meet it later.
- Measurement method, since cantilever, post deflection and transducer results are not interchangeable.
A specification containing all seven can be checked against this table before anyone spends money. One containing only item 2 cannot.
Is a given specification achievable
Work it through against the table. A requirement of 500 µN twitch, for instance, sits inside the demonstrated envelope on several routes: iPSC-derived engineered muscle tissue on 1.92 N/m posts exceeded it at day 7 (385.8 µN) and doubled it by day 10 (1156.3 µN); primary human myoblast tissues reached 568.0 ± 103.7 µN twitch at day 14 on the same platform. A requirement in the low mN range is achievable but sits at the top of the published C2C12 literature and generally requires a purpose-built maturation protocol. A requirement above roughly 20 mN/mm² specific force in human tissue has been reported only twice in the normalised table and should be treated as a research programme, not a purchase.
And a requirement anywhere near native human muscle — 150–250 mN/mm² — is not currently achievable by anyone.
No supplier sells against these numbers
Worth stating plainly, because this table reads like a product specification and is not one. No vendor surveyed lists a finished, force-specified engineered muscle construct as a catalogue item. The organisations that build such constructs — Curi Bio, eNUVIO, Creative Biolabs — deliver reports and datasets. Whether any of them will contract to a force acceptance criterion on a physical part is a commercial question. The CRO directory covers who to ask, and the sourcing guide covers what the inputs cost.
Corrections welcome
This table is intended to be the reference version, which means it needs to be right. If a row misstates a value, uses the wrong cross-section convention, or omits a study that belongs here, tell us and we will correct it with the citation attached. Values recalculated by the source review rather than read from the primary text are marked as such deliberately, and we would rather replace them with directly read values where those exist.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these. Accessed on or before 2026-09-01.
- Vesga-Castro, Aldazabal, Vallejo-Illarramendi and Paredes (2022), Contractile force assessment methods for in vitro skeletal muscle tissues, eLife 11:e77204, doi:10.7554/eLife.77204 — source of the normalised cross-study table and of the platform force-range figures https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9126583/
- Smith et al. (2022), High-throughput, real-time monitoring of engineered skeletal muscle function using magnetic sensing, Journal of Tissue Engineering 13, doi:10.1177/20417314221122127, PMC9445471 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9445471/
- Khodabukus et al. (2019), Electrical stimulation increases hypertrophy and metabolic flux in tissue-engineered human skeletal muscle, Biomaterials 198:259-269, doi:10.1016/j.biomaterials.2018.08.058, PMC6395553 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6395553/
- Madden et al. (2015), Bioengineered human myobundles mimic clinical responses of skeletal muscle to drugs, eLife 4:e04885, doi:10.7554/eLife.04885, PMC4337710 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4337710/
- Chen, Wang, Zhou and Tan (2026), Fast-swimming biohybrid OstraBot with self-trained high-strength muscles, Nature Communications, doi:10.1038/s41467-026-70259-9, PMC13000202 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC13000202/
- Raman et al. (2016), Optogenetic skeletal muscle-powered adaptive biological machines, PNAS 113(13):3497-3502, doi:10.1073/pnas.1516139113, PMC4822586 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4822586/
- Sakar et al. (2012), Formation and optogenetic control of engineered 3D skeletal muscle bioactuators, Lab on a Chip 12(23):4976-4985, doi:10.1039/c2lc40338b, PMC3586563 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3586563/
- Akiyama et al. (2012), Room temperature operable autonomously moving bio-microrobot powered by insect dorsal vessel tissue, PLoS ONE 7(7):e38274, doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0038274, PMC3394766 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3394766/
- Juhas and Bursac (2014) / Juhas et al. (2014), Biomimetic engineered muscle with capacity for vascular integration and functional maturation in vivo, PNAS, doi:10.1073/pnas.1402723111, PMC3992675 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3992675/
- Hinds et al. (2011), The role of extracellular matrix composition in structure and function of bioengineered skeletal muscle, Biomaterials, doi:10.1016/j.biomaterials.2011.01.062, PMC3057410 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3057410/
- Hofemeier et al. (2021), Global and local tension measurements in biomimetic skeletal muscle tissues, eLife, doi:10.7554/eLife.60145, PMC7906603 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC7906603/
- Capel et al. (2019), Scalable 3D printed molds for human tissue engineered skeletal muscle, Front Bioeng Biotechnol, doi:10.3389/fbioe.2019.00020, PMC6383409 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6383409/
- Rao et al. (2018), Engineering human pluripotent stem cells into a functional skeletal muscle tissue, Nature Communications, doi:10.1038/s41467-017-02636-4, PMC5760720 https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5760720/
- Mills et al. (2019), Development of a human skeletal micro muscle platform with pacing capabilities, Biomaterials, doi:10.1016/j.biomaterials.2018.11.030 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.biomaterials.2018.11.030
- Huang et al. (2005), Rapid formation of functional muscle in vitro using fibrin gels, J Appl Physiol, doi:10.1152/japplphysiol.00273.2004 https://doi.org/10.1152/japplphysiol.00273.2004
- Yang et al. (2025), Modular Assembly of Biohybrid Machines Using Force-Enhanced Skeletal Muscle Actuators, bioRxiv preprint, doi:10.1101/2025.07.06.663299 — not peer reviewed at time of writing https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2025.07.06.663299v1.full
rev 2026-09-01 · research use only · list prices are supplier-published and change without notice · not a quotation