Guide
MEA-ready neurons: what the phrase means and what to check instead
A compatibility matrix of iPSC neuron products against Axion Maestro, MaxWell MaxTwo and Multi Channel Systems MEA platforms — plate formats, electrode counts, seeding densities, days to bursting and co-culture requirements, with an explicit statement of why "MEA-ready" is not a defined term.
The short answer: “MEA-ready” is not a defined term, has no release criterion behind it, and no supplier sells neurons with a network-activity acceptance criterion attached. What you are actually buying is a frozen vial and a hope that, four to eight weeks after plating, the network fires.
That gap is where neurotech projects die. The cells are cheap and publicly priced. The instrument is commodity hardware. The maturation between them is unpriced, unspecified and entirely your risk. This page sets out what genuinely varies between products and platforms, and the four things to verify before you spend anything.
What “MEA-ready” actually means when a vendor says it
In practice it means one of four different things, and vendors rarely say which:
- The cells are electrically active at some point after plating. True of essentially every post-mitotic neuron product sold. Not a differentiator.
- The supplier publishes an MEA protocol. Genuinely useful, and only some do.
- The supplier publishes MEA data on their own product. More useful still.
- The supplier states a seeding density and an expected days-to-activity. The most useful, and the rarest.
None of those four is a guarantee. There is no certification, no standard, no threshold, and nothing you can hold a supplier to if the culture never bursts. If a vendor tells you a product is “MEA-ready”, the correct next question is “ready by what criterion, measured how, at what day”.
Platform side: what the three main systems actually are
Before matching cells to plates, the plates themselves differ in ways that change your seeding arithmetic.
| Platform | Plate formats | Electrodes per well | Electrode geometry | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axion BioSystems Maestro (Pro, Edge, Volt) | CytoView MEA 6, 12, 24, 48, 96 | 64 (6- and 12-well), 16 (24- and 48-well), 8 (96-well) | PEDOT electrodes on a transparent bottom; 96-well plate has 50 µm electrodes at 350 µm spacing over a 0.8 × 0.8 mm recording area | Transparent bottom allows brightfield checking of spotting and multiplexing with fluorescent or luminescent readouts. 96-well well volume 500 µL. Designed for one-time cell plating, 12-month warranty |
| MaxWell Biosystems MaxTwo (HD-MEA) | 6-well, 24-well Plate+, 96-well announced | 26,400 per well, both formats | 3,265 electrodes/mm², 17.5 µm pitch, active sensing area 3.85 × 2.10 mm; up to 1,020 simultaneous readout channels routed from the 26,400 | Single-cell and subcellular resolution, axon tracking, targeted stimulation. 24-well Plate+ adds PEDOT coating and parallel readout across wells |
| MaxWell MaxOne (single-well HD-MEA) | Single chip, PSM (19 mm inner ring) or PLM (32 mm inner ring) | 26,400 | Same density and pitch as MaxTwo | Recording unit is incubator-friendly; organoid holder and perfusion accessories available |
| Multi Channel Systems MEA2100-Mini | Single-well 60- or 120-electrode MEAs; wide array format range including 3D and perforated arrays for slices and organoids | 60 or 120 (256 on the MEA2100-256) | Metal electrodes, each usable for both recording and stimulation | 50 kHz per channel at 24-bit, ±70 mV input range, typical input noise 0.7 µV RMS. Headstage can be operated inside a humid incubator. Up to eight Mini headstages on one interface board |
The practical consequence: a 96-well Axion plate gives you eight electrodes over a 0.8 mm square, while a MaxWell well gives you 26,400 over roughly 8 mm². Those are not the same experiment. The Axion format answers “what is this population doing” at throughput. The MaxWell format answers “what is this cell doing” and can track axons. Choose the platform from the question, then choose the cells to fit the plate — not the reverse.
Compatibility matrix: cell product against platform
Published combinations only. An empty cell means the supplier does not publish that combination, not that it fails.
| Cell product | Axion Maestro | MaxWell MaxTwo | Multi Channel Systems | Published seeding density | Co-culture requirement | Days to bursting (supplier-stated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BrainXell cortical glutamatergic (BX-0300), motor (BX-0100), medium spiny GABA (BX-0700) | Yes — protocol validated on PDL-coated 24-well CytoView MEA (M384-tMEA-24W) with Maestro Edge | Not published | Not published | 50,000–100,000 viable neurons per well, seeded as a single 40 µL droplet over the electrodes | Astrocytes required in the published protocol; ratio 2:1 to 6:1 neurons to astrocytes | Activity present to some degree by 12 DIV; plateau around 21 DIV |
| bit.bio ioGlutamatergic Neurons (io1001) | Yes — tri-culture protocol published with ioGABAergic Neurons and astrocytes | Yes — dedicated co-culture protocol with rat astrocytes on MaxTwo | Not published | General seeding minimum 30,000 cells/cm²; MEA-specific density per protocol | Astrocytes used in both published MEA protocols; microglia shown to enhance network activity in co-culture | Not stated as a single number; structural networks by day 11 |
| NeuCyte SynFire co-culture kit (MEA configuration NC1010-7.5) | Published composition uses 48-well MEA plates | Not published | Not published | 140,000 glutamatergic + 60,000 GABAergic + 70,000 astrocytes per well | Astroglia included in the kit; the excitatory–inhibitory ratio is the product | Synchronised network bursting recorded at 3–4 weeks post-seeding |
| FUJIFILM CDI iCell GlutaNeurons (01279) | Network burst raster data published; instrument not always specified on the page | Not published | Not published | Per user’s guide | Not stated as mandatory on the product page | Product stated viable and pure >4 weeks; highly connected networks with synchronous bursting shown |
| Ricoh / Elixirgen Quick-Neuron Excitatory | MEA data published; plates shipped between sites | Not published | Not published | Per protocol | Co-cultured with primary human astrocytes in the published experiment | Network burst firing measured at day 49–51 post-thaw in the transport study |
| iXCells cortical, motor, GABAergic, dopaminergic | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Sells a dedicated Motor Neuron Activity Medium Kit, implying activity work is expected | Not published |
| Axol axoCells cortical, motor, striatal, sensory | Not published on storefront | Not published | Not published | Not published | Sells cortical neuron NeurOne supplement and motor neuron accelerator supplement | Not published |
| STEMCELL Technologies forebrain neuron precursors | Not published | Not published | Not published | 80,000 cells/cm² published for the general maturation protocol | Astrocyte and microglia kits available on the same iPSC background | Functionally active mature neurons stated two weeks after thaw |
The four things to verify before you buy
1. Whether astrocytes are optional, and at what ratio
They are usually not optional. Every supplier in the matrix above that publishes an MEA protocol includes glia in it.
BrainXell’s protocol calls for a 2:1 to 6:1 neuron-to-astrocyte ratio. NeuCyte builds glia into the kit at a fixed 70,000 astrocytes per well against 200,000 total neurons. bit.bio publishes co-culture protocols with astrocytes and separately shows that microglia co-culture increases network correlation and mean burst duration. Ncardia publishes raster plots comparing cortical neurons with and without astrocytes and states that overall electrical activity increases in the co-culture.
Astrocyte co-culture is the single most common reason a neuronal culture that should have matured on an MEA does not. Budget for it. And note that neurons and astrocytes are often bought from different vendors with incompatible media, which nobody sells as a validated package with a stated ratio — iPSC astrocytes, microglia and glia has the published prices and the co-culture ratios side by side.
2. The seeding density in the units the plate uses
Two conventions circulate — cells per well and cells per cm² — and they translate badly between plate formats.
BrainXell states cells per well (50,000–100,000) and a 40 µL droplet, because the droplet method concentrates cells over the electrodes rather than distributing them across the well. bit.bio states a general minimum of 30,000 cells/cm². STEMCELL states 80,000 cells/cm² for a plated maturation protocol. If you convert one to the other without accounting for the droplet method, you will be wrong by a large factor, and cell density is one of the strongest determinants of whether a network bursts at all.
Ask for the number in the form the protocol uses, and ask whether it is a droplet or a distributed plating.
3. Coating
BrainXell’s protocol specifies PDL-coated plates plus Cultrex or Geltrex added to the seeding medium at a defined dilution — 10 µL of pre-diluted Cultrex per 1 mL of medium. That second step is easy to miss and it is not optional in their protocol.
Coating chemistry and coating age both matter. Poly-D-lysine, poly-ornithine and laminin are not interchangeable across protocols, and a plate coated a week ago is not a plate coated this morning. If your supplier publishes a coating protocol, follow it exactly before concluding the cells are the problem.
4. Days to bursting, and whether that fits your project
This is the number that determines your schedule, and only three suppliers publish it clearly:
- BrainXell: activity to some degree by 12 DIV, plateau around 21 DIV.
- NeuCyte: synchronised network bursting at 3–4 weeks post-seeding.
- Ricoh / Elixirgen: measured network burst firing at day 49–51 post-thaw in their published transport study, with patch clamp at 5–6 weeks post-thaw.
Take the honest reading of that spread: plan for three to seven weeks between thawing a vial and having a network worth recording from. A supplier that promises meaningful network data in days is describing cell attachment and spontaneous spiking, not synchronised bursting.
What nobody sells, and why it matters
There is no product on the market that is a delivered, already-firing human neural network on an MEA plate with a stated activity acceptance criterion.
You can buy neurons at a published price. You can buy astrocytes at a published price. You can buy an MEA and plates. What you cannot buy is the four-to-eight-week maturation with somebody else carrying the risk that it does not work. Every buyer absorbs that personally, with no recourse.
Two things make this gap narrower than it looks. First, one supplier has published a transport experiment in which a plated, active MEA plate was shipped from Tokyo to Maryland and recorded before and after — baseline network bursting at day 49 pre-transport, day 50 after a 33-hour transit, and pharmacological response to 4-AP at day 51. That is a direct demonstration that a live, active plated network survives long-haul shipping, which is the hardest-sounding part of delivering one. Second, several contract laboratories advertise customised neural culture and assay development, so the wet-work capability exists as a purchasable service even though no one packages it as a product.
That combination — live active plates demonstrably survive transport, and the culture work is contractible — is what makes a delivered MEA-ready culture brokerable rather than fictional. It is still a development engagement, not a shelf item, and we label it as such.
Practical checklist before ordering
- Which MEA platform and which plate part number, confirmed against the supplier’s protocol.
- Seeding density, in the units the protocol uses, and whether it is droplet or distributed plating.
- Coating protocol, including any matrix added to the seeding medium.
- Whether glia are required, from which supplier, at what ratio, and whether the media are compatible.
- Media schedule and how many media changes per week — this is a labour cost, not just a consumable.
- Expected day of first activity and day of plateau.
- Post-thaw viability specification and the method used to measure it.
- Whether the supplier will state any activity expectation in writing on the quote.
- Total elapsed time from order to usable data, including maturation, not just shipping.
Where to go next
For product-level availability and prices, see human iPSC-derived cortical neurons. For which suppliers publish protocols and data at all, see the supplier directory and the head-to-head comparison.
If you want a delivered active culture rather than a vial, tell us the activity criterion you would accept — burst rate, synchrony index, day of measurement — and we will source it as a contract programme against that criterion. If nobody will accept the criterion, we will tell you that too.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these. Accessed on or before 2026-09-01.
- BrainXell — Neuron/Astrocyte 24-well MEA Co-culture Protocol v10.0, including seeding density, ratio and activity timeline https://brainxell.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/09/BrainXell-24-well-MEA-Co-culture-Neuron_Astrocyte-Protocol-v10.pdf
- Axion BioSystems — CytoView MEA plate range, formats and electrodes per well https://www.axionbiosystems.com/products/mea/cytoview-mea-plate
- Axion BioSystems — CytoView MEA 96 datasheet (8 electrodes per well, 350 µm spacing, 500 µL well volume) https://www.axionbiosystems.com/sites/default/files/resources/M768-tMEA-96%20DATASHEET%20v4.pdf
- MaxWell Biosystems — MaxTwo multiwell HD-MEA plate specifications https://www.mxwbio.com/products/maxtwo
- MaxWell Biosystems — MaxOne HD-MEA chip specifications https://www.mxwbio.com/products/maxone
- Multi Channel Systems — MEA2100-Mini system datasheet https://www.multichannelsystems.com/sites/multichannelsystems.com/files/documents/data_sheets/MCS_MEA2100-Mini-System_Datasheet.pdf
- bit.bio — MEA co-culture protocol for ioGlutamatergic Neurons with astrocytes on the MaxTwo HD-MEA https://www.bit.bio/resources/protocols/co-culturing-glutamatergic-neurons-rat-astrocytes-mea-assays
- bit.bio — MEA tri-culture protocol, ioGlutamatergic and ioGABAergic Neurons with astrocytes (Axion) https://www.bit.bio/resources/protocols/human-ipsc-derived-glutamatergic-gabaergic-astrocyte-triculture-mea-axion-protocol
- NeuCyte — SynFire MEA co-culture composition and network bursting timeline https://neucyte.com/data
- FUJIFILM Cellular Dynamics — iCell GlutaNeurons network burst and convulsant response data https://www.fujifilmcdi.com/icell-glutaneurons-01279-ggln01279
- Ricoh Biosciences — Quick-Neuron Excitatory MEA and patch clamp data, including a plated-plate transport experiment https://biosciences.ricoh.com/product/quick-neurontm-excitatory-human-ipsc-derived-neurons-healthy-control-standard-ex-sev-cw50065/
rev 2026-09-01 · research use only · list prices are supplier-published and change without notice · not a quotation