Comparison
3D tissue model suppliers compared: what ships, what is custom, and what it costs
A comparison of fourteen 3D tissue model suppliers — MatTek, EPISKIN, InSphero, MIMETAS, Emulate, CN Bio, TissUse, Altis, Visikol, Xellar, Phenion, J-TEC, myriamed and eNUVIO — on tissue types, format, whether they ship finished tissue or an empty device, custom capability and published price band.
The short answer: fourteen suppliers offer 3D human tissue models, and they split cleanly into three business models that are routinely mistaken for one another. Some ship living tissue in a plate. Some ship an empty device and an instrument. Some sell a study and deliver a report.
Four of the fourteen publish a price. If you are trying to budget this category from public information, that is the constraint you are working against.
The comparison table
| Supplier | Tissue types offered | What actually ships | Format | Custom? | Published price band | Evidence note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MatTek (Sartorius) | EpiDerm, EpiDermFT, MelanoDerm, Melanoma, Psoriasis, EpiAirway, EpiNasal, EpiAlveolar, EpiIntestinal, EpiOral, EpiGingival, EpiVaginal, EpiCorneal, EpiOcular, EpiKidney, EpiLiver, HUREL Micro Livers | Finished living tissue. Metabolically active human epithelium on culture inserts; HUREL plates arrive as plated cells with media, spare lids, heat packs and a temperature log | EPI-200 kit = 24 tissues; 9 mm and 22 mm inserts; 96-well HTS; 0.4 µm pore substrate. Ships 4 °C on agarose gels every Monday; 4-day shelf life including transit | Media and tissue composition yes (phenol red-free, antibiotic-free, anti-fungal-free, hydrocortisone-free). Geometry no | None — quote only | Full technical specification published; the reference case for centralised living-tissue manufacture |
| EPISKIN | SkinEthic RHE, RHE-LC, RHPE (pigmented), HCE (corneal), HO2E (oral), HGE (gingival), HBE (bronchial), HVE (vaginal), T-SKIN, Cell Migration Models | Finished living tissue on inert polycarbonate filter at air–liquid interface | Widest format range in the category: 0.5, 1 and 4 cm² inserts; HTS 24-well at 0.33 cm²; HTS 96-well at 0.11 cm². Different maturities available. ISO 9001 certified production | Maturity and surface variants; geometry fixed | None — quote only | Named in OECD TG 439 and TG 431. EpiSkin (the separate VRM model) withdrawn from commercial supply December 2024 |
| InSphero | 3D InSight liver microtissues (human, beagle dog, C57BL/6 mouse), neural and islet microtissue lines; Akura plates and Gri3D hydrogel microcavity plates | Finished living tissue — 96 pre-aggregated spheroids per plate, plus plasticware as separate SKUs | Akura 96 and Akura 384 spheroid microplates. Weekly production; published order-by schedule; ships Tuesday to US, Wednesday to Europe; delivery worldwide within 14 days | Medium configuration (TOX, AF, INF); format on request | Yes — human liver plate + 250 mL medium at $4,280 (~$45/microtissue); dog $9,140; mouse $9,680; Akura 96 plates $355 (5-pack) to $1,195 (20-pack); Akura 3D SureKit $3,810 | Guarantees ≥95% of microtissues available on arrival, confirmed by optical scan of each plate at packing. 10-donor pooled hepatocytes (5M/5F) + single-donor NPC. Up to 4 weeks viability |
| MIMETAS | OrganoReady: barrier, vascular, kidney, gut and liver models on the OrganoPlate platform | Finished perfused tissue (OrganoReady) or empty plate (bare OrganoPlate) | 40 or 64 tissue models per plate; explicitly stated as requiring no cell or ECM handling by the customer | CRO services arm | None — “discuss your needs” | The only pre-seeded perfused organ-chip product identified. No contractile configuration |
| Emulate | Organ-chips: Chip-S1, Chip-R1, Chip-A1, Chip-Array; Zoë-CM2 culture module; AVA system | Empty chips plus instruments | Fixed chip formats | Not advertised as custom geometry | None | Instrument-plus-consumable model |
| CN Bio | PhysioMimix liver-on-a-chip, lung-on-a-chip, gut/liver multi-organ; studies as a service | Empty perfused scaffold plates plus instrument, or a study | Liver-12 (~400,000–600,000 PHH/well, 4 conditions in triplicate) and Liver-48 (150,000 PHH/well, 16 conditions in triplicate). COC plate material, less adsorbent than PDMS | Study design collaboration | None — request a quote | Publishes seeding numbers and plate material, which most vendors do not. ≥4 weeks phenotype maintenance under perfusion |
| TissUse | HUMIMIC chips, devices, accessories and cells | Empty chips plus instruments | Configurable HUMIMIC chip setups adapted to the customer’s requirement | Chip setup configuration; not custom tissue geometry | None — catalogue on request | Berlin-based multi-organ chip platform |
| Altis Biosystems | RepliGut Planar, RepliGut Crypt, RepliGut Immune Co-Culture; intestinal mucus | Kits (human intestinal epithelium) plus DMPK/ADME and screening services | RepliGut Kits; regional origin (duodenum, jejunum, ileum, colon) is a specification field | Yes — explicit Custom Services line for gut models | None | Strongest published custom offering in the intestinal category |
| Visikol (MatTek / Sartorius) | 3D HepaRG NP liver co-culture, BBB permeability, oncology drug screening, steatosis and phospholipidosis, hepatotoxicity | Nothing — services only. The deliverable is data | Assay service; histology, digital pathology, multiplexed immunofluorescence panels, image analysis, machine-learning segmentation | Custom IF panels and custom analysis | None | Has no tissue product of its own, which makes it a clean independent QC and characterisation subcontractor |
| Xellar Biosystems | High-throughput organ-on-chip; multicellular 3D disease model development | A preclinical platform and studies, not parts | Platform | Disease model development | None | Boston. Sells studies, not products |
| Phenion (Henkel) | Full-thickness skin: FT, FT INSERT, FT LARGE, FT SMALL, FT LONG-LIFE, FT AGED; plus keratinocytes, fibroblasts, feeder cells and media | Finished living tissue, individual tissues, any quantity | ø 0.9 cm, 1.4 cm and 3.1 cm; FT AGED kit = 6 models on transport agar in a 24-well plate; FT LONG-LIFE culturable at least 50 days after arrival | Standard range only | Yes — complete published price list. €139–€235 per tissue; cells €500–€580 per million; media €55–€110 per 250 mL. Volume discounts: >€3,000 = 5%, >€6,000 = 7%, >€10,000 = 9% | The only complete public price list in the category. Full-thickness, not RhE — not a TG 439 method |
| J-TEC (Japan Tissue Engineering, Teijin) | LabCyte EPI-MODEL24 and EPI-MODEL12 reconstructed human epidermis; EPI-MODEL 6D | Finished living tissue | 24-well and 12-well types; TG 431 model surface 0.3 cm². EPI-MODEL 6D has a shortened 6-day culture, thinner cornified layer and greater cytotoxicity sensitivity | Model variant selection | None | Listed in OECD TG 439, TG 431, TG 442D and ISO 10993-23. Publishes full SOPs |
| myriamed | myrTissue-Cardio (engineered heart muscle), myrTissue-Skeletal (hypaxial skeletal muscle), myrTissue-Brain (BENO neuronal organoid); myrCell cardio, skeletal and stroma; myrPlate | Finished living contractile tissue — the only supplier here shipping force-generating tissue with a public price. Ships at ambient temperature, ready after 24 h recovery, CoA per batch | Ring-format macroscale tissue; 48-well SBS myrPlate with two flexible stretchers per well, six stiffness grades | Cells, plate or finished tissue — three purchase depths | Yes — €1,400 / €5,400 / €8,000 for 1/5/12 tissues; myrPlate €270–€330 per plate; myrCell €750 per million | Lead times 6–8 weeks cardiac, 7–11 weeks skeletal and neuronal. Method published (Tiburcy et al., Circulation 2017) |
| eNUVIO | OMEGA series culture devices: OMEGA-MP 3D skeletal muscle, OMEGA96-MP, OMEGA-NMJ neuromuscular junction, neuronal compartmentalisation devices | Empty PDMS devices. You seed the cells | OMEGA-MP: 4 devices / 8 experiments, 21.25 mm, fits 12-well plates, open-top chambers, ships sterile, 2-year shelf life | Yes — full custom microfabrication: design, prototyping, cleanroom production, features to ~1 µm, from a few devices to large batch. Plus contract research including 3D muscle cultures | Yes — OMEGA-MP $440.00 for 8 experiments (~$55/experiment). OMEGA96-MP quote only | The only hard public price in the contractile category and the most accessible custom route |
The structural split, which explains everything else
Cluster one: epithelial, spheroidal and barrier tissue is a shipped finished good. MatTek, EPISKIN, J-TEC, Phenion, InSphero and MIMETAS OrganoReady all mail living human tissue to strangers on a schedule. This is a mature, twenty-year-old commercial category with a working cold chain. What none of them will vary is geometry — insert diameter and plate format are fixed, and media and tissue composition are the customisable axes.
Cluster two: contractile tissue is sold as an empty mould. eNUVIO and, in the muscle category generally, Curi Bio sell plasticware. Their own descriptions are unambiguous: myogenic progenitors from primary, iPSC or immortalised sources are resuspended in an ECM-derived hydrogel and seeded into each chamber — by the customer.
The exception that matters. myriamed crosses the streams. It sells finished, living, macroscale contractile human tissue — cardiac, skeletal and neuronal — at published prices with a certificate of analysis, shipped at ambient temperature. That is the only entry in this table doing so, and it is a recent and meaningful change to the market. The trade is a six-to-eleven week manufacturing lead time, because nothing is held in inventory.
Cluster three: organ-chips are instrument businesses. Emulate, CN Bio, TissUse and MIMETAS sell a culture module or instrument, then consumable chips. The procurement question here is not tissue type, it is lock-in: whether the consumable is proprietary, what a well costs across the study you actually plan to run, and whether you can bring your own cells.
What publishes a price, and what that tells you
| Supplier | Publishes price? | Cheapest published unit |
|---|---|---|
| Phenion (Henkel) | Yes — complete list including media and accessories | FT SMALL single tissue, €139 |
| InSphero | Yes — full shop with plates, consumables and hardware | Akura Tilting Stand $59; liver microtissue plate bundle $4,280 |
| myriamed | Yes — cells, plates and finished tissue | myrPlate Uniform, €270 |
| eNUVIO | Yes on catalogue devices | OMEGA-MP, $440 for 8 experiments |
| MatTek, EPISKIN, J-TEC, MIMETAS, Emulate, CN Bio, TissUse, Altis, Visikol, Xellar | No | — |
Four out of fourteen. The pattern is not random: the suppliers that publish prices are the ones selling a defined unit — a tissue, a plate, a device. The ones that do not are selling production slots, instrument-plus-consumable relationships, or services, where a single number would be misleading in both directions.
Three structural reasons a living-tissue vendor does not publish:
- The product is a production slot, not an item. What you can buy depends on what is being grown that week.
- Academic and commercial pricing genuinely differ, and publishing one breaks the other.
- Format multiplicity. EPISKIN alone has five surface areas; MatTek has four media variants across three formats.
The practical implication: you are expected to ask, and the first number is not the only number. State institution type, annual volume and format in the first email.
Custom capability, ranked by what is actually advertised
Genuine custom fabrication. eNUVIO is the only supplier here advertising ground-up custom device manufacture — design, prototyping and cleanroom production, features in the 1 µm range, from a few devices to large batch. If your requirement is a geometry that does not exist, this is the first call.
Explicit custom services line. Altis Biosystems advertises Custom Services for gut models alongside its RepliGut catalogue, which makes it the right route when an intestinal requirement deviates from a standard format.
Custom composition, fixed geometry. MatTek will produce phenol red-free, antibiotic-free, anti-fungal-free and hydrocortisone-free tissue variants with the agent removed at least three days before shipment. EPISKIN offers different maturities and surfaces. Both fix the insert and plate.
Custom study design, not custom parts. CN Bio, Xellar, MIMETAS and Visikol will build a study around your goals. The deliverable is data.
No custom. Phenion, J-TEC and InSphero sell defined catalogue products, and their transparency on price is arguably the trade for that.
Ownership changes that will confuse your search results
This sector consolidates faster than its websites update. Three that matter:
- Visikol is part of MatTek, which is part of Sartorius. Its liver service pages now redirect into the MatTek site, and HUREL micro livers appear under the MatTek product tree with a Visikol contact address for temperature-log returns. Treat MatTek, Visikol and HUREL as one organisation.
- Newcells Biotech’s ophthalmology business was acquired by Axol Bioscience in February 2026, and the newcellsbiotech.co.uk domain now redirects to Axol. If a retinal or kidney model reference points at Newcells, check where it landed.
- EHT Technologies GmbH was acquired by DiNAQOR in January 2021 and now trades as DiNABIOS, though the eht-technologies.com domain still resolves.
When a supplier survey older than a year names any of these, verify before you send an RFQ.
The one supplier with no product, and why it is useful
Visikol has no tissue product of its own. It sells histology, digital pathology, pre-validated and custom multiplexed immunofluorescence panels, image analysis, cell counting, morphometry and viability assays.
That absence is a procurement asset. A characterisation house with no tissue to defend is the cleanest possible third-party QC subcontractor. If you need independent confirmation that a delivered tissue is what the supplier said it was — histology, marker expression, viability — a provider with no competing product has no incentive to find a particular answer. Worth remembering when a delivered lot is in dispute.
Shipping and shelf life: the practical differences
| Supplier | Shipping condition | Cadence | Usable window on arrival |
|---|---|---|---|
| MatTek | 4 °C on medium-supplemented agarose gels | Every Monday; Thursday on special request. US Tuesday AM by FedEx priority; international Tuesday–Thursday | 4 days at 4 °C including transit. At least 2 weeks of good morphology in culture if fed |
| InSphero | Temperature- and humidity-controlled InFloat system | Weekly production, published order-by dates; ships Tuesday (US) / Wednesday (EU); delivery worldwide within 14 days of order | Up to 4 weeks viability with stable albumin secretion and CYP activity |
| Phenion | Not stated on the pages fetched | Not stated | FT LONG-LIFE culturable at least 50 days after arrival |
| myriamed | Ambient temperature | Order-related manufacturing, 6–11 weeks | Ready for use after 24 h recovery at 37 °C |
| eNUVIO | Sterile, room temperature | Catalogue | 2-year device shelf life |
The spread here is enormous and it is the single most underestimated variable in this category. A four-day window including transit means your experiment date is set by the supplier’s shipping calendar before you start. Fifty days of culture, or four weeks of spheroid viability, is a fundamentally different planning problem. And ambient shipping removes the cold-chain receiving procedure entirely.
Plan backwards from the supplier’s calendar, not forwards from yours.
Choosing a supplier: the decision sequence
- Which of the three business models do you want? Finished tissue, empty device plus instrument, or a study. Get three quotes that are all the same shape or the comparison is meaningless.
- Is a regulatory endpoint involved? If yes, the field collapses to models named in the relevant OECD guideline, and validation rather than price decides.
- What is your usable window? Match the shelf life to your study design before matching the price.
- Is geometry fixed or variable in your requirement? If it must change, only one supplier here advertises building it.
- What does a well cost across the whole study, including cells for the routes that do not include them? A perfused liver plate at 400,000 to 600,000 primary hepatocytes per well across twelve wells consumes 5 to 7 million cells — a larger line than most plate quotes.
- Who owns the supplier now, and does the entity you are emailing still exist under that name.
Where to go next
Engineered tissue is the category map explaining why epithelial tissue ships as a product and contractile tissue does not. Liver microtissues and spheroids and reconstructed human epidermis go deep on the two best-established categories. Organ-on-chip platforms compared covers the instrument cluster in detail, and 3D skeletal muscle models compared covers the contractile cluster.
How we can help
The hardest part of this category is not choosing a supplier, it is getting three quotes that are comparable — because a finished-tissue quote, a plate-plus-instrument quote and a study quote are three different products with the same name.
We normalise them: convert everything to cost per usable data point, add the cell input where the route does not include it, add shipping quoted to your actual address, and lay the supplier’s production calendar against your study start date. Where a published-price catalogue product will serve the endpoint, we will tell you that rather than run a quote cycle. And where nothing in this table can do what you need — which happens most often with custom geometry — we will say so plainly instead of quoting you something adjacent.
Tell us the tissue type, the endpoint, the number of tissues and the date you need them.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these. Accessed on or before 2026-09-01.
- MatTek (Sartorius) — human tissue model product category and full model list https://mattek.com/productcategory/human-tissue-models
- MatTek — EpiDerm 2025 Technical Specifications: kit size, formats, shipping cadence and shelf life (PDF) https://5138675.fs1.hubspotusercontent-na1.net/hubfs/5138675/MatTek%20Tech%20Specs/2025_EpiDerm%20Technical%20Specifications.pdf
- MatTek — HUREL Micro Livers: self-assembling co-cultures, species panel and package contents https://www.mattek.com/hurel-micro-liver/
- EPISKIN — SkinEthic RHE model, formats and surface areas https://www.episkin.com/SkinEthic-RHE
- InSphero — public shop product and price data (Shopify products endpoint), queried live 2026-09-01 https://shop.insphero.com/products/3d-insight%E2%84%A2-human-liver-microtissues-akura%E2%84%A2-96-plate-format
- InSphero — 3D InSight Human Liver Microtissues: donor pooling, viability and InFloat shipping guarantee https://insphero.com/products/liver
- MIMETAS — OrganoReady perfused ready-to-use tissue models https://www.mimetas.com/en/organoready
- Emulate — organ-chip products and consumables https://emulatebio.com/products
- CN Bio — PhysioMimix Multi-chip Liver plates: Liver-12 and Liver-48 seeding numbers and COC plate material https://cn-bio.com/consumables/multi-chip-plates/physiomimix-liver-plate/
- TissUse — HUMIMIC chip platform and configurable setups https://www.tissuse.com/en/humimic
- Altis Biosystems — RepliGut Planar, Crypt and Immune Co-Culture platforms, RepliGut Kits and Custom Services https://altisbiosystems.com/
- Visikol (MatTek / Sartorius) — histology, digital pathology, image analysis and 3D in vitro assay services https://www.mattek.com/
- Phenion (Henkel) — Reconstructed Tissues range and published price list valid from 01.01.2024 https://www.phenion.com/products/reconstructed-tissues
- Japan Tissue Engineering (J-TEC) — LabCyte EPI-MODEL range and OECD guideline listings https://www.jpte.co.jp/en/business/LabCyte/epi-model/index.html
- myriamed — public shop product and price data (Shopify products endpoint), queried live 2026-09-01 https://the-myriamed-biotech-shop.myshopify.com/collections/plates
- eNUVIO — OMEGA-MP 3D Skeletal Muscle Culture Device, USD $440.00 for 4 devices / 8 experiments https://enuvio.com/shop/3d-skeletal-muscle-device-omega-mp
- Axol Bioscience — acquisition of the Newcells Biotech ophthalmology business, February 2026 https://axolbio.com/retinal-organoid-ophthalmology/
rev 2026-09-01 · research use only · list prices are supplier-published and change without notice · not a quotation