Comparison
Microfluidic fabricators compared: method, feature size, tolerance, MOQ and NRE
A head-to-head of named microfluidic fabricators — HiComp, Parallel Fluidics, eNUVIO, FlowJEM, Blue BioDevice, uFluidix, microfluidic ChipShop, Potomac Photonics, ALine and an academic cleanroom — on fabrication method, material, minimum feature size, published tolerances, minimum order quantity, non-recurring engineering cost and who keeps the tooling.
The short answer: two fabricators publish a rate card, and the decision is usually made by method rather than by vendor. HiComp publishes $1,500 of one-time engineering plus $80 per chip for PDMS soft lithography. Blue BioDevice publishes SU-8 master moulds from $790 to $1,150 by channel height. Parallel Fluidics publishes no price but publishes the most complete design rules and tolerances in the market, in production thermoplastics rather than PDMS. Everyone else is quote-only.
The second finding, and the one that saves the most money: for cell culture applications, an off-the-shelf device usually wins. eNUVIO’s OMEGA-MP is $440 for four devices covering eight experiments — $55 per experiment with no tooling cost at all. Against $1,580 for one custom part, that is 28 experiments before a custom route has produced anything.
The fabricator comparison
| Fabricator | Primary method | Materials | Minimum feature | Published tolerance | MOQ | NRE | Per part | Tooling ownership |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HiComp (San Diego, US) | Soft lithography from a closed integrated mould, moulded not cast | PDMS; bonding to PDMS, thin PDMS film, glass or other substrates | Not published as a number; aspect ratios binned as <3, 3–6, >6 in their quote form | Not published | Stated as low — the $80 rate applies to initial batches of 1–20 units | $1,500 one-time; chrome photomask $500 extra | $80 per chip at 1–20 units, volume discounts stated | Photomask is yours to keep or store with them |
| Parallel Fluidics (US) | Transition moulding — precision-machined aluminium mould, production-grade resin, thermally capped with optically clear film | COC, COP, PMMA, PC — production thermoplastics from day one | 50 µm width and 50 µm height minimum for moulded microfeatures | ±20 µm or ±10% on microfeatures (whichever is greater); ±125 µm on macrofeatures and machined features; 100 µm cap flatness | Prototypes to hundreds per month | Quote only — 24-hour quote from an uploaded 3D CAD model | Quote only | Not published |
| eNUVIO (Montréal, CA) | Photolithography, RF sputtering and plasma, soft lithography, plus a patented proprietary moulding method for high aspect ratio parts | Mostly PDMS; bonding to glass or other materials; surface modification for hydrophilicity | Features in the 1 µm range; thin-layer structures under 20 µm; one shipping product has a 0.5 mm feature reaching over 12 mm in height | Not published | “A few custom devices or large batch production” | Quote only | Quote only; their own catalogue devices are the anchor — OMEGA-MP $440 for 4, OMEGA-ACE-4mm $425, OMEGA-4 and OMEGA-ACE $285 | Not published |
| Blue BioDevice (JP) | SU-8 master mould fabrication only — you cast the PDMS | Silicon wafer SU-8 masters | Aspect-ratio-bound: width to height up to roughly 1:4 as standard | Not published as a tolerance; channel heights tiered from 5 µm upward | 1 mould | $790 (5 µm+), $890 (60 µm+), $990 (150 µm+), $1,150 (300 µm+), international shipping, duties and VAT included. Technical fee $0 to ~$220 depending on design work required | Not applicable — you cast | You own the mould. Multi-height moulds in one wafer available |
| uFluidix (Toronto, CA) | Soft lithography, PDMS | PDMS and others | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not separately stated — appears bundled | $60 per chip at 100 chips, two-week lead time, typical single-layer device | Not published |
| FlowJEM (Toronto, CA) | SU-8 silicon moulds and patented SU-8 copper moulds; PDMS devices; thermoplastic devices | PDMS; bonds to glass, PET, COC, PMMA, PC and polyimide | Micrometre-level features; heights from a few µm to 500 µm | Not published; characterisation reports provided | Off-the-shelf devices plus custom | Quote only | Quote only | 4-inch and 6-inch wafers, multi-layer SU-8, silanisation, wafer dicing offered |
| microfluidic ChipShop (Jena, DE) | Injection moulding and polymer replication at volume, plus off-the-shelf catalogue | Polymer wafers and substrates including Zeonor; foils; adhesives | Not published | Not published | Catalogue chips available singly; contract fabrication from small batches to high volume | Quote only | Catalogue chips publicly listed but priced behind a shop login | Not published. ISO 9001:2015 and EN ISO 13485:2016 certified |
| Potomac Photonics (Baltimore, US) | Laser micromachining, micro-CNC, hot embossing, micro-3D printing | Polymers, glass, adhesives, thin metal foils, polyimide | Not published | Not published | Prototype quantities explicitly supported | Quote only | Quote only | Explicitly phased: process development, scale-up, manufacturing |
| ALine (Signal Hill, US) | Laminate and design-for-manufacture-led assembly | Multi-material laminates | Not published | Not published | Not published | Quote only | Quote only | ISO 13485:2016 certified, FDA 21 CFR Part 820 compliant |
| Penn QNF (academic cleanroom) | SU-8 soft lithography master fabrication | SU-8 on wafer | Feature widths above 20 µm as standard | ±10% on width; ±20% on height up to 100 µm. Tighter is “subject to additional review” and additional fee | 1 mould | $1,060 single layer; $3,295 two layers. Staff support $55/hour | Not applicable | You take the master. Academic eligibility applies |
Method decides more than vendor
The single most consequential choice on this page is not which company you use. It is which fabrication method your device needs, because the cost structure differs by orders of magnitude and the crossover points are predictable.
Soft lithography in PDMS: cheap to start, never cheap at volume
Taking HiComp’s published $1,500 NRE plus $80 per chip and amortising it:
| Quantity | Total | Per part | NRE share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,580 | $1,580.00 | 95% |
| 10 | $2,300 | $230.00 | 65% |
| 100 | $9,500 | $95.00 | 16% |
| 1,000 | $81,500 | $81.50 | 2% |
Per-part cost falls by 95 percent between one and a hundred parts, then essentially stops falling. Between 100 and 1,000 the per-chip cost moves from $95 to $81.50 — a 14 percent improvement for a ten-fold increase in commitment. Soft lithography does not scale, because every chip is an individual casting operation. There is no volume at which it becomes cheap.
Note also that HiComp’s $80 rate is explicitly stated for initial batches of 1 to 20 units with volume discounts available as orders scale, so the table above is a conservative reading of their own structure at the high end.
The crossover between fabricators is real and worth discovering. uFluidix publishes 100 chips at $60 each — $6,000 with tooling apparently included — against $9,500 on HiComp’s published structure at the same quantity. That is a 37 percent spread at n = 100 and it costs nothing to find out.
Buying a master and casting yourself: the labour trap
Master and per-chip rates below are the published rate cards captured 2026-09-01.
| Quantity | Blue BioDevice $790 master | Penn QNF $1,060 academic master | Penn QNF $3,295 two-layer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $790.00 | $1,060.00 | $3,295.00 |
| 10 | $79.00 | $106.00 | $329.50 |
| 100 | $7.90 | $10.60 | $32.95 |
| 1,000 | $0.79 | $1.06 | $3.30 |
This looks unbeatable and it is not, because the excluded costs are most of the true per-part cost. A PDMS casting cycle — weighing, mixing, degassing, pouring, curing, peeling, punching, cleaning, plasma treating, aligning, bonding — is several hours elapsed with roughly one to two hours hands-on per batch. At the $55 per hour academic staff rate published by the same facility that sells the $1,060 master, ninety minutes of hands-on time is $82.50 per batch, which dominates the mould amortisation at every tier above ten parts.
The honest reading: buying a master is cheap, casting from it is not, and the cost is labour rather than materials. If your technician’s time has any real cost, the outsourced $80-per-chip route is competitive far earlier than the mould price suggests.
Yield makes this worse and nobody publishes a figure. Bonding failures, leaks at inlet ports and alignment errors are the common modes. We could not find a published failure rate from any fabricator in this survey, so we do not assert one — but a 20 percent loss rate raises effective per-part cost by 25 percent, and that alone can move the buy-versus-make answer.
Thermoplastic moulding: the PDMS problem, solved at a different price
Parallel Fluidics publishes no price, and publishes the most useful technical document in this comparison. Their design guide gives hard numbers where everyone else gives adjectives:
- Minimum moulded microfeature: 50 µm width, 50 µm height. Height must not exceed 50 percent of the fluidic layer thickness.
- Aspect ratio: 3:1 maximum height to width, 1:100 minimum when capped, with a stated preference for staying close to 1:1 for consistent results.
- Corner radius: 125 µm minimum, with a 10:1 maximum height-to-radius ratio.
- Feature separation: 300 µm minimum at the narrowest point; 1.5 mm minimum from the outer perimeter on a capped device.
- Tolerances: ±20 µm or ±10 percent on microfeatures, whichever is greater; ±125 µm on macrofeatures and machined features; 100 µm flatness on the cap surface.
- Stated three-day turnaround on custom device iterations, and a 24-hour quote from an uploaded 3D CAD model.
They also publish a solvent compatibility and physical property table across COC, COP, PMMA and PC that is genuinely useful regardless of who you buy from. The material findings that matter for culture work: PMMA and PC are incompatible with acetone, DMSO and polar organic solvents; COC and COP are resistant to all three, and no listed material resists chlorinated solvents such as dichloromethane. COC and COP have moisture absorption of 0.01 percent against 0.2 to 0.3 percent for PMMA and PC, and COP is described as having low surface adsorption for the most demanding applications.
That last point is the substantive reason to consider thermoplastic over PDMS for anything involving small molecules. Toepke and Beebe documented PDMS absorption of small molecules and the consequences in microfluidic applications, and the effect silently changes effective dose. If you are dosing a compound and reading a response, the wetted material is a data-quality question, not a procurement preference.
Laser, CNC and hot embossing: prototype-flexible, no published pricing
Potomac Photonics structures the work in three explicit phases and the reasoning is sound. During process development they favour direct machining and laser methods over mould-based fabrication precisely because design parameters change frequently and direct methods allow rapid manipulation of feature dimensions, including fabricating partial chip designs to screen difficult features such as microchannels and pillars quickly. Scale-up then moves to hot embossing or injection moulding, with the accompanying post-replication operations of bonding, surface treatment and interfacing.
That phasing is the right mental model for any programme, whoever fabricates. Match the method to the maturity of the design, not to the eventual volume.
We found no published per-part pricing for laser ablation, micro-CNC, hot embossing or 3D-printed microfluidics from any named fabricator in this survey. That is the state of the market, not an omission here.
What actually drives a custom quote up
From the published design rules and constraints of the fabricators above:
- Layer count. Penn QNF prices a single-layer master at $1,060 and a two-layer master at $3,295 — a 3.1× multiplier for one extra layer. Alignment is a step change, not an increment. HiComp’s quote form bins designs by single height, two heights and more than two, and flags multi-layer as outside the standard package.
- Channel height. Blue BioDevice tiers on height alone: $790 at 5 µm and above rising to $1,150 at 300 µm and above, a 46 percent increase across the range.
- Feature size and tolerance. Penn QNF’s standard process covers widths above 20 µm within ±10 percent and heights to 100 µm within ±20 percent; anything tighter is explicitly subject to additional review and fee. Parallel Fluidics guarantees ±20 µm or ±10 percent as standard.
- Aspect ratio. Both soft lithography fabricators cap around 1:4 width to height as standard, and Parallel Fluidics caps moulded features at 3:1. Tall narrow structures break and delaminate. eNUVIO’s patented high-aspect-ratio moulding method is the specific exception in this comparison, with a shipping product carrying a 0.5 mm wide feature over 12 mm tall.
- Bonding complexity. HiComp’s quote form separates PDMS-to-PDMS, PDMS-to-thin-film, PDMS-to-glass, three-or-more-layer bonding and PDMS-to-other-substrate, and separates alignment accuracy into no alignment, ≥0.2 mm and <0.2 mm. Each step up is a cost step.
- Design maturity. Penn QNF bills design assistance and any consultation beyond the first 30-minute meeting at $55 per hour, charges the same rate for DXF-to-GDS conversion, and states that changes after fabrication begins incur charges for processing already executed. Blue BioDevice charges a technical fee of zero when a simple design arrives as GDSII and up to roughly $220 when drawing work is required. Arriving with a finished GDS file is worth real money at every fabricator here.
- Iteration count. The largest hidden cost in every custom programme. Each design revision in a soft lithography workflow means a new master. At $790 to $3,295 per master, five iterations is $4,000 to $16,500 before a single usable device exists. This is precisely the problem Parallel Fluidics’ three-day turnaround and single-click ramp is positioned against.
The off-the-shelf comparison, which usually wins for culture work
Before commissioning anything, price the catalogue. eNUVIO publishes live prices for its PDMS culture device range:
| Device | Application | Price | Experiments per pack | Cost per experiment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OMEGA-MP | 3D skeletal muscle, two micropillars per chamber | $440.00 | 8 | $55.00 |
| OMEGA-4 | Neuronal co-culture | $285.00 | 8 | $35.63 |
| OMEGA-4-2mini-2mm | Neuronal co-culture | $285.00 | 8 | $35.63 |
| OMEGA-ACE-4mm | Triple-chamber neuronal co-culture | $425.00 | 8 | $53.13 |
| OMEGA-ACE | Triple-chamber neuronal co-culture | $285.00 | 4 | $71.25 |
| OMEGA-AG | Axon guidance and chemotaxis | $425.00 | 3 | $141.67 |
| EB-DISKs | Embryoid body formation, reusable | $125.00 | Not stated | — |
| OMEGA-96-MP, OMEGA-96, OMEGA-96-ACE, OMEGA-NMJ-on-a-chip | Higher-throughput and specialist formats | Quote only — the store returns no public price | — | — |
$35 to $141 per experiment with zero tooling. Against a custom route at $1,580 for the first part, an off-the-shelf device buys 11 to 44 experiments before you have spent what one custom part costs.
This is the price ceiling every custom quote must justify itself against. The only good reasons to go custom are geometry the catalogue does not offer, a feature size the catalogue does not hold, or a volume high enough that per-part cost dominates. “We would prefer our own design” is not one of them at n = 10.
Choosing
| If your situation is | Fabricator or route | Because |
|---|---|---|
| Standard cell culture geometry, low volume | Catalogue devices first — eNUVIO OMEGA range | $35–$141 per experiment with no tooling; 11–44 experiments for the cost of one custom part |
| Single-layer PDMS device, 1–20 parts, want a published price | HiComp | The only published NRE-plus-per-part rate card: $1,500 + $80, four-week lead time, ISO 7 cleanroom |
| 100 chips of a typical single-layer design | Get both HiComp and uFluidix quotes | Published figures differ 37 percent at that quantity; the spread is free to discover |
| You want to own the tooling and cast in-house | Blue BioDevice ($790–$1,150) or Penn QNF ($1,060–$3,295 academic) | Both deliver you the master; price the casting labour honestly before deciding |
| Small molecules in the channel, dosing matters | Parallel Fluidics in COC or COP | PDMS absorbs small molecules; COP is specified for low surface adsorption |
| Solvent-heavy chemistry (acetone, DMSO, polar organics) | Parallel Fluidics in COC or COP | Published solvent table: PMMA and PC are incompatible with all three |
| High aspect ratio features, tall narrow structures | eNUVIO | Patented moulding method for high aspect ratio parts; a shipping product at 0.5 mm wide by over 12 mm tall |
| Features approaching 1 µm | eNUVIO | The only fabricator here publishing features in the 1 µm range |
| Fast design iteration, many revisions expected | Parallel Fluidics | Three-day stated turnaround, 24-hour quote, production materials from the first prototype |
| Rapidly changing geometry during development | Potomac Photonics | Direct laser and micro-CNC methods explicitly chosen for design flexibility during process development |
| Regulated device path, quality system required | ALine (ISO 13485:2016, FDA 21 CFR Part 820) or microfluidic ChipShop (ISO 9001:2015, EN ISO 13485:2016), and note HiComp states ISO 13485 certification and FDA registration | Quality system certification is not something you can add later |
| High volume thermoplastic production in Europe | microfluidic ChipShop | Catalogue plus contract fabrication from small batches to high volume, certified |
| Multi-layer SU-8 or copper moulds for hot embossing | FlowJEM | Patented SU-8 copper moulds and multi-layer SU-8, heights to 500 µm, with characterisation reports |
The RFQ line nobody includes
Specify all of the following and the quotes become comparable. The last one is the most commonly omitted and the most expensive to get wrong.
- File format, ideally GDS. DXF conversion is billable at multiple fabricators here.
- Minimum feature width and the tolerance you actually need, distinguished from the one you would like.
- Channel height and tolerance — height drives the master price tier directly at Blue BioDevice.
- Number of layers, and whether alignment between layers is required, with the accuracy needed.
- Material: PDMS, COC, COP, PMMA, PC or glass. This changes the method, not just the price.
- Substrate and bonding requirement — bonded to glass, to another layer, or supplied unbonded.
- Surface treatment or coating, if any.
- Sterilisation method the device must survive.
- Quantity now, and realistic quantity within twelve months. Quote both.
- Whether the master mould or tooling is delivered to you or retained by the fabricator.
That last point deserves emphasis. Blue BioDevice and Penn QNF sell you the master, so you own the tooling. HiComp states the photomask is yours to keep or store with them. Others quote a chip price with tooling retained. Two quotes that look similar at n = 100 can diverge completely at your second order, and the difference is a contractual term rather than a price.
Where to go next
What custom microfluidic fabrication costs has the full volume-tier arithmetic and the method comparison table. PDMS versus COP versus PMMA covers the material choice in depth, including the absorption problem. Custom microfluidic device fabrication covers the service-side scoping questions.
How we can help
Microfluidic quotes are hard to compare because fabricators bundle non-recurring engineering differently, some sell you the tooling and some keep it, and almost none publish per-part pricing at volume.
We put one specification to several fabricators, normalise the responses into the NRE-plus-per-part structure used above, and check who retains the master. Where an off-the-shelf device would do the job — and for culture applications it frequently would — we will tell you that rather than run a custom quote cycle.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these. Accessed on or before 2026-09-01.
- HiComp — custom PDMS microfluidics: Rapid Professional Setup Package at $1,500 one-time NRE plus $80 per chip for initial batches of 1–20 units, chrome photomask at $500, ISO 7 cleanroom, ISO 13485 certified, FDA registered, four-week standard lead time, captured 2026-09-01 https://www.hicomp.us/pdms
- Parallel Fluidics — Custom Devices design guide: transition molding in production-grade thermoplastics, 50 µm minimum molded microfeature width and height, ±20 µm or ±10% microfeature tolerance, ±125 µm macrofeature and machined tolerance, 100 µm cap flatness, three-day stated turnaround https://www.parallelfluidics.com/resources/design-guide/fluidic-layer/tolerances
- Parallel Fluidics — design guide, microfeature dimensions: aspect ratio limits 3:1 maximum, 1:100 minimum when capped, 125 µm minimum corner radius, 300 µm minimum separation between features, 1.5 mm minimum distance to perimeter https://www.parallelfluidics.com/resources/design-guide/fluidic-layer/microfeature-dimensions
- Parallel Fluidics — design guide, materials: COC, COP, PMMA and PC solvent resistance and physical property tables https://www.parallelfluidics.com/resources/design-guide/materials
- eNUVIO — custom microfabricated devices: photolithography, RF sputtering and plasma, soft lithography plus a patented proprietary moulding method for high aspect ratio parts, features in the 1 µm range, thin-layer structures under 20 µm, glass bonding, surface modification; production from a few devices to large batches, all inside their own cleanroom https://enuvio.com/custom-microfabricated-devices/
- eNUVIO — OMEGA culture device store pricing, live WooCommerce Store API, queried 2026-09-01 https://enuvio.com/shop/3d-skeletal-muscle-device-omega-mp
- Blue BioDevice — PDMS microfluidic moulding service: published SU-8 master mould pricing by channel height, technical fee schedule, 14–18 day international lead time, GDSII/DWG/DXF file acceptance, 15 mm edge exclusion and 5 mm pattern spacing rules https://www.bluebiodevice.com/index.php/pdms-microfluidic-molding-service/
- uFluidix — published pricing example: 100 chips at $60 per chip with a two-week lead time for a typical single-layer device https://www.ufluidix.com/pricing/
- FlowJEM — SU-8 based silicon and patented SU-8 based copper moulds, 4-inch and 6-inch wafers, multi-layer SU-8, feature heights from a few to 500 µm, silanisation, wafer dicing, PDMS surface modification and bonding to glass, PET, COC, PMMA, PC and polyimide https://www.flowjem.com/su8-based-molds
- microfluidic ChipShop — off-the-shelf lab-on-a-chip catalogue plus custom product development and contract fabrication; ISO 9001:2015 and EN ISO 13485:2016 certified https://www.microfluidic-chipshop.com/
- Potomac Photonics — microfluidic device fabrication across laser micromachining, micro-CNC, hot embossing and micro-3D printing, structured as process development, scale-up and manufacturing phases https://www.potomac-laser.com/microfluidics/
- ALine — microfluidic design for manufacture and rapid system integration; ISO 13485:2016 certified and FDA 21 CFR Part 820 compliant https://www.alineinc.com/
- Singh Center for Nanotechnology (Penn) QNF — Soft Litho Fabrication Service published academic rates, feature width and height tolerances, aspect ratio limits, and charges for design assistance and file conversion https://wiki.nano.upenn.edu/wiki/index.php?title=QNF_Soft_Litho_Fabrication_Service
- Toepke MW, Beebe DJ. PDMS absorption of small molecules and consequences in microfluidic applications. Lab Chip 2006;6(12):1484-1486 https://doi.org/10.1039/b612140c
rev 2026-09-01 · research use only · list prices are supplier-published and change without notice · not a quotation