Price analysis
Reconstructed human epidermis: what it costs and what you get
A specification and price comparison of reconstructed human epidermis models — MatTek EpiDerm, EPISKIN SkinEthic RHE, Phenion FT and others — with OECD validation status, kit format, shipping cadence and shelf life, and an honest account of which suppliers publish a price and which do not.
The short answer: the two established reconstructed human epidermis suppliers, MatTek and EPISKIN, publish no price at all. Both are quote-only. The models that do carry a public figure are €190 per tissue for Phenion’s full-thickness FT LONG-LIFE and $1,900 to $3,500 per unit for NeoBioPharma’s NeoEpidermis — and neither is a like-for-like substitute for EpiDerm.
If you came here for an EpiDerm price, we cannot give you one, and no honest source can. What we can give you is the verified specification, the validation status, and the list of things to pin down so that the quotes you receive are actually comparable.
What publishes a price, and what does not
| Supplier | Model | Format | Public price | Evidence | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MatTek (Sartorius) | EpiDerm | EPI-200 kit = 24 tissues; 9 mm and 22 mm inserts; 96-well HTS | No — “Request a Quote” on the product page | mattek.com | 2026-09-01 |
| EPISKIN | SkinEthic RHE | Multiple maturities and surfaces | No — specifications published, no pricing | episkin.com | 2026-09-01 |
| Phenion (Henkel) | FT LONG-LIFE full-thickness skin model | Individual tissues, any quantity, order number FT LONG-LIFE-1 | Yes — €190 per piece | phenion.com | 2026-09-01 |
| Phenion (Henkel) | FT standard, FT INSERT, FT LARGE, FT AGED | FT AGED kit = 6 models on transport agar in a 24-well plate | No price on the product page | phenion.com | 2026-09-01 |
| NeoBioPharma | NeoEpidermis 3D Skin Model | NEP3D1-6 (6-well) | Yes — $1,900.00 | neobiopharma.com | 2026-09-01 |
| NeoBioPharma | NeoEpidermis 3D Skin Model | NEP3D1-12 (12-well) | Yes — $3,500.00 starting price per unit | neobiopharma.com | 2026-09-01 |
| Amerigo Scientific | EpiDerm (MatTek), distributed | Not stated | No — inquiry only, with a note to contact for academic pricing | amerigoscientific.com | 2026-09-01 |
| Fisher Scientific | MatTek EpiDerm, 24 tissues (NC2096801) | Kit of 24 | No price returned to us on the public product page | fishersci.com | 2026-09-01 |
Two of eight rows carry a number, and neither of those two is EpiDerm or SkinEthic RHE. That is the state of the market, not a limitation of our research.
The verified EpiDerm specification
Since we cannot give you a price, here is what a quote would be buying, taken directly from MatTek’s 2025 EpiDerm Technical Specifications document.
| Attribute | Specification |
|---|---|
| Standard kit | EPI-200 = 24 tissues. Kits contain tissues, a small amount of culture medium and plasticware |
| Formats | 9 mm and 22 mm individual inserts, plus 96-well HTS plates |
| Substrate | Chemically modified tissue culture insert, 0.4 µm pore size |
| Culture | Air-liquid interface |
| Histology | 8–12 cell layers plus stratum corneum (basal, spinous and granular layers) |
| Cells | Normal human epidermal keratinocytes (NHEK), single donor, neonatal foreskin; adult breast skin NHEK available as an alternative |
| Pathogen screening | Cells negative for HIV, hepatitis B and hepatitis C by PCR |
| Base medium | DMEM, serum-free, with EGF, insulin, hydrocortisone and proprietary differentiation stimulators |
| Antibiotics | Gentamicin 5 µg/mL (10 percent of normal level); amphotericin B 0.25 µg/mL |
| Media variants | Phenol red-free (EPI-200-PRF), antibiotic-free (EPI-200-ABF), anti-fungal-free (EPI-200-AFF), hydrocortisone-free (EPI-200-HCF). Agents removed at least 3 days before shipment |
| Shipment condition | 4 °C on medium-supplemented agarose gels |
| Shipment day | Every Monday. Thursday possible on special request |
| Delivery | Tuesday morning by FedEx priority in the US; Tuesday to Thursday outside the US depending on location |
| Shelf life | Up to 4 days at 4 °C including transit |
| Experiment duration | At least 2 weeks with good morphology retention, fed every other day with 5.0 mL EPI-100-NMM-3 |
| Lot release testing | ET-50 by MTT after 1% Triton X-100 exposure at 4, 6, 8 and 10 hours; must fall within the 1996 EpiDerm database range of 4.77–8.72 hours |
| Sterility testing | All production media checked; maintenance medium incubated with and without antibiotics for 1 week; shipping agarose gel incubated for 1 week |
| Lot failure policy | Customer notified and tissues replaced without charge where appropriate. QC is post-shipment: ET-50 failures notified by Wednesday 5 p.m., sterility failures within 8 days of shipment |
The two specifications that will bite you
The shelf life is four days including transit. Not four days from arrival. If the tissue ships Monday and arrives Tuesday morning, you have until roughly Friday. MatTek’s own documentation recommends using tissues consistently on the same day — Tuesday afternoon or Wednesday morning after overnight storage — for best reproducibility. This is a living product on a weekly production calendar, not an item you order and shelve.
The operational consequence is that your experiment date is set by the supplier’s shipping calendar, not by yours. Plan backwards from a Monday.
QC is post-shipment. Lot release testing happens after the tissues are already on their way to you. ET-50 failures are notified by Wednesday 5 p.m. and sterility failures within 8 days — which is to say, after you have already used the tissue. The replacement policy is fair, but if you are running a study on a deadline, a lot failure costs you a week regardless of who pays for the tissue.
OECD validation: what attaches to which model
This is the part of the specification that most affects price and is most often glossed over.
| Model | Supplier | OECD TG 439 skin irritation | OECD TG 431 skin corrosion | OECD TG 498 phototoxicity | Other |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EpiDerm | MatTek | Yes, validated | Yes, validated | Yes, validated | OECD TG 442D (Epi2SensA); ISO 10993-23 medical device extracts; pre-validated genotoxicity micronucleus assay |
| SkinEthic RHE | EPISKIN | Model is an RhE within the TG 439 framework; EPISKIN publishes SOPs for skin irritation and for medical device irritation | Not stated on the pages we fetched | Not stated on the pages we fetched | ISO 9001 certified production |
| NeoEpidermis | NeoBioPharma | Product page states “OECD TG 439 / TG 431 compliant” and “TG 442D compatible” | As stated by supplier | Not stated | Supplier claim; we did not independently verify validation status |
| Phenion FT range | Henkel | Full-thickness model; used in the 3D Skin Comet genotoxicity assay | Not applicable in the same way | Not stated | FT LONG-LIFE culturable up to 50 days after arrival |
“Compliant” and “validated” are not the same word. OECD TG 439 is a performance-based test guideline: a model qualifies by demonstrating specified performance against reference chemicals, and validated reference models are named in the guideline. A supplier describing its own model as “compliant” is making a claim about its model’s performance. A model that appears in the guideline as a validated reference method has had that claim assessed externally.
If your endpoint is regulatory — a REACH dossier, a cosmetics safety assessment, a medical device submission — this distinction is the whole reason you would pay a premium for an established model. If your work is exploratory, it may not matter at all, and a cheaper model with a published price is a rational choice.
The two published prices, and what they are not
Phenion FT LONG-LIFE at €190 per piece. This is a real, published, per-unit price with no minimum order — Phenion’s page states it can be purchased at any number under order number FT LONG-LIFE-1, and that sterile petri dishes, filter papers and spacers are provided. Specification: 1.4 cm diameter, 3 mm thickness, proprietary collagen matrix, human skin fibroblasts and keratinocytes from a single donor, culturable for at least 50 days after arrival.
That last figure is the interesting one. Fifty days of usable culture against EpiDerm’s four-day shelf life and two weeks of morphology retention is a fundamentally different experimental window. But it is a full-thickness model — dermis plus epidermis — not a reconstructed epidermis. It is not a TG 439 substitute and Phenion does not present it as one. It answers a different question.
Phenion’s related products page states that 250 mL of ALI medium is sufficient to culture 6 standard FT models in separate petri dishes for up to 10 days, and that ALI medium must be ordered separately. The medium is not priced on the page.
NeoBioPharma NeoEpidermis at $1,900 (NEP3D1-6) and $3,500 (NEP3D1-12). Published, in-stock, add-to-cart pricing for a stratified RhE model built from normal human epidermal keratinocytes with basal, spinous, granular and stratum corneum layers. The catalogue numbering implies 6-well and 12-well formats respectively, giving roughly $317 and $292 per tissue if the well count is the tissue count — but the page describes the size as “Custom Size” and states $3,500 as a “starting price per unit”, so we are not going to assert a per-tissue figure. Ask before you infer.
We could not independently confirm NeoBioPharma’s OECD validation status, and their published regulatory claims are supplier statements. If you are considering this route for regulatory work, ask for the validation report, not the product page.
Why nobody publishes an EpiDerm price
Three structural reasons, all of which you can use in a negotiation:
- The product is not a unit, it is a slot on a production line. MatTek produces tissue lots weekly and assigns lot numbers per week, with letters appended to distinguish kits within a lot. Pricing that publicly would expose capacity allocation.
- Academic and commercial pricing genuinely differ. Amerigo Scientific, distributing EpiDerm, states explicitly on its product page to contact them for academic pricing. Where a supplier maintains a two-tier structure, publishing one number breaks the other.
- Format variety. 9 mm inserts, 22 mm inserts and 96-well HTS plates are different products at different price points, plus four media variants. There is no single number to publish.
The practical implication: you are expected to ask, and the first number you are given is not necessarily the only number available. State your institution type, your annual volume and your format up front.
What to specify in an RhE quote request
Get these into the first email and the quotes you receive will actually be comparable:
- Model and supplier, explicitly. Do not ask for “an RhE model”.
- Format: 9 mm insert, 22 mm insert, or 96-well HTS. These are different prices.
- Kit size and number of kits. The MatTek standard is 24 tissues per EPI-200 kit; ask what a partial or larger order does to the unit price.
- Media variant: standard, phenol red-free, antibiotic-free, anti-fungal-free or hydrocortisone-free. Removal happens at least 3 days before shipment, so this affects lead time as well as price.
- Maintenance medium, and how much. EpiDerm’s long-duration protocol needs 5.0 mL of EPI-100-NMM-3 every other day. Over two weeks that is a meaningful consumable line.
- Delivery date and day, given the fixed weekly cadence.
- Destination, because international delivery is Tuesday to Thursday depending on location and the four-day shelf life includes transit.
- Whether you need a specific donor — neonatal foreskin is the default, adult breast skin is available.
- Academic, non-profit or commercial, stated explicitly.
- Repeat volume. A committed annual quantity is the only lever most buyers have on a quote-only product.
The honest summary
For regulatory skin irritation, corrosion or phototoxicity work, the established models are established for a reason and you will be quoting, not shopping. Budget the time for a sales cycle rather than a checkout, and plan your experiment date around a Monday shipment.
For exploratory work, formulation screening or method development where regulatory acceptance is not the endpoint, the models with published prices are worth a look — and Phenion’s 50-day culture window on a €190 tissue is a genuinely different capability rather than a cheaper version of the same thing.
For anything in between, the deciding question is whether you will ever need to defend the result to a regulator. If yes, buy validation. If no, buy the tissue that fits the experiment.
How we can help
We run RhE sourcing regularly and the recurring problem is not price, it is calendars. Weekly production, four-day shelf life including transit, and a fixed Monday ship date mean the purchasing decision and the experiment date are the same decision.
We will put your specification to the suppliers that can meet it, chase the format and media-variant details that make quotes comparable, and consolidate tissue, maintenance medium and shipping onto one order so that nothing arrives without its medium. If a published-price model would serve your endpoint, we will tell you that instead of running a quote cycle.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these. Accessed on or before 2026-09-01.
- MatTek — EpiDerm Technical Specifications (2025 edition) https://5138675.fs1.hubspotusercontent-na1.net/hubfs/5138675/MatTek%20Tech%20Specs/2025_EpiDerm%20Technical%20Specifications.pdf
- MatTek — EpiDerm product page and validated applications https://www.mattek.com/mattek-product/epiderm/
- MatTek — human tissue model product category https://mattek.com/productcategory/human-tissue-models
- EPISKIN — SkinEthic RHE Reconstructed Human Epidermis https://www.episkin.com/SkinEthic-RHE
- Phenion (Henkel) — Reconstructed Tissues, FT Skin Model range and FT LONG-LIFE pricing https://www.phenion.com/products/reconstructed-tissues
- NeoBioPharma — NeoEpidermis 3D Skin Model, catalogue NEP3D1-6 and NEP3D1-12 https://www.neobiopharma.com/product/509/
- OECD — Test No. 439: In Vitro Skin Irritation, Reconstructed Human Epidermis Test Method https://www.oecd.org/en/publications/test-no-439-in-vitro-skin-irritation-reconstructed-human-epidermis-test-method_9789264242845-en.html
rev 2026-09-01 · research use only · list prices are supplier-published and change without notice · not a quotation