Directory
Organoid suppliers: a directory, and the licence sitting under most of the market
A directory of organoid model suppliers, biobanks and expansion services — adult stem cell versus iPSC-derived routes, tissue coverage, whether models are sold or only screened against, and the HUB technology licence that separates academic purchase from commercial use.
The short answer: you can buy organoids, but for most of this market the purchase and the permission are two separate transactions, and only one of them has a published price. The dominant adult stem cell organoid technology is patent-encumbered by a single organisation, which states plainly that academics may buy models for basic research while commercial partners intending in-house use require a technology licence.
That structure is unusual enough to be worth stating before any table. In most of the categories we broker, a purchase order is sufficient. Here, a purchase order from a company buys you a model you may not be permitted to use the way you intended.
The two technology routes, and why the distinction is commercial rather than biological
Every organisation below sits on one side of a line that vendors rarely draw for you.
Adult stem cell-derived organoids are grown directly from a patient biopsy or surgical resection without reprogramming or transformation. The genetic and epigenetic make-up of the original tissue — including clinically relevant mutations — is preserved. This is the Lgr5+ stem cell route from the Hans Clevers laboratory, the original “mini-gut in a dish”, and HUB Organoids holds global IP rights to it.
iPSC-derived organoids are differentiated from a pluripotent line. They inherit the licensing position of the underlying iPSC line rather than the organoid patents, they carry a single genetic background you chose, and they are as consistent as the line is.
The biological difference is real — patient mutations preserved versus a defined background — but the commercial difference is sharper. These two routes have entirely different licensing landscapes, and the route you pick decides which set of obligations you inherit. The iPSC route puts you in the territory covered by iPSC line suppliers. The adult stem cell route puts you in HUB’s.
The directory
| Organisation | What they actually supply | Route | Region | Tissue coverage | Sold as a model, or only as a service | Licence required for commercial in-house use | Published price | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HUB Organoids (Merck KGaA Life Science) | The technology itself, plus licence and tech transfer packages; drug screening and clinical-trials-in-a-dish services | Adult stem cell | Utrecht, Netherlands | Human and animal epithelium, broadly | Both — services directly, models via the biobank | Yes, explicitly. “A license is required when our industry partners wish to use HUB’s proprietary Organoid Technology in-house” | None — every package routes to a quote | Live-verified 2026-09-01 |
| Hubrecht Organoid Biobank Foundation | The patient-derived organoid biobank itself; models stable in long-term culture, expandable and cryopreservable | Adult stem cell | Utrecht, Netherlands | Patient-derived across tissues | Model supply | Yes — academics may purchase for basic research in their own labs; “commercial partners who intend to purchase organoids from our biobank for in-house applications require a license” | None — enquiry form only | Live-verified 2026-09-01 |
| Crown Bioscience (JSR Life Sciences) | OrganoidXplore organoid screening service; patient-derived organoid models; organoid matched to PDX; model-derived biobank | Adult stem cell, under HUB licence | San Diego, CA, US and global | 14 cancer types — lung, breast, ovarian, colorectal, pancreatic, cervical, head and neck, oesophagus, gastric among them | Service. The deliverable is a screening result | Crown is a licensee — it states its models use “proprietary culture methods, built on exclusive Clevers Lab HUB protocols” | None | Vendor page, 2026-09-01 |
| Molecular Devices (Cellesce) | Custom organoid line expansion — the manufacturing layer, not the model layer | Adult stem cell | San Jose, CA, US; Cardiff, UK | Customer’s own line | Service | Not stated on the launch material | None | Vendor newsroom, 2026-09-01 |
| STEMCELL Technologies | IntestiCult Organoid Growth Medium (Human) and the organoid media range | Media layer, both routes | Vancouver, Canada | Intestinal primary focus, broader media range | Product — media, not models | Named by HUB as “the exclusive supplier of organoid cell culture media created using the HUB Organoid Technology” | Catalogue prices published for media | Vendor page, 2026-09-01 |
| Cell Applications Inc | i-HH iPSC-derived hepatocyte organoids and i-HAEpC2 alveolar epithelial organoids on the DISCUS 3D system | iPSC-derived | San Diego, CA, US | Liver, lung alveolar epithelium | Product | Inherits the iPSC line position, not HUB’s | Organoids quote-gated; accessories live-verified: DISCUS i-HH Gel Kit $79.00, DISCUS i-HAEpC2 Gel Kit $72.00, Dissolution Reagent $37.00, i-HAEpC2 Growth Medium Kit $192.00, i-HH Media $93.00 | Live-verified 2026-09-01 via store API |
| RIKEN BioResource Research Center | Organoids as a formal public resource class alongside cell lines | Deposited lines | Tsukuba, Japan | Per deposit | Product | Standard MTA; for-profit tier available | JPY 92,840 academic / JPY 185,680 for-profit per tube | Live-verified 2026-09-01 |
| Altis Biosystems | RepliGut Planar, Crypt and Immune Co-Culture human intestinal epithelium; RepliGut kits; intestinal mucus | Adult stem cell-derived intestinal epithelium | North Carolina, US | Intestine only | Product and service | Not stated | None | Vendor page, 2026-09-01 |
| InSphero | 3D InSight liver, neural and islet microtissues on a published production schedule | Spheroid / microtissue rather than organoid proper | Schlieren, Switzerland | Liver, neural, islet | Product | Not applicable | None — quote only | Vendor page, 2026-09-01 |
| Newcells Biotech | Kidney, retina and lung models; proximal tubule product; assay services | Not confirmed | Newcastle, UK | Kidney, retina, lung | Not confirmed | Not stated | None | Unverified — site blocked automated retrieval across repeated attempts |
The licence is the product, and HUB says so
HUB Organoids publishes its licensing structure openly, which is more than most patent holders do, and the structure tells you how the market is organised.
The IP is described as four pillars, and the breadth is the point:
- Product — adult stem cell-derived organoids from both human and animal epithelium.
- Media composition — tailored organ-specific culture compositions.
- Application — use of organoid technology in any field, from drug discovery and development to diagnostics to regenerative medicine.
- Methodology — optimised protocols for establishment, expansion and differentiation.
Read those together. The claim covers the thing, the medium it grows in, the method of growing it, and every application. There is no obvious gap to design around, and the honest advice is not to try to find one.
Licence packages are published as three named categories — Drug Development, Equipment Validation, and Others — with no price attached to any of them. The Drug Development package is described as including the ability to generate your own patient-derived organoids from patient tissue, optimised protocols for establishing, passaging and maintaining cultures, access to HUB’s validated reagent list, and end-to-end tech transfer support. The Equipment Validation package is narrower: use organoids purchased from approved vendors, with a standardised screening protocol, to validate that your instrument works with organoids.
That second package is worth noticing. An instrument vendor who wants to demonstrate their reader, imager or handler works with organoids needs a licence to do it. If you are buying an organoid-compatible instrument, asking whether the vendor validated under licence is a fair question.
The only quantitative disclosure on the licensing page is the tech transfer ladder:
| Tech transfer package | Validity | Sessions | Positioning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | 3 months | 3 | “Get started with organoid technology” |
| Advanced | 4 months | 4 | “Everything you need to incorporate our technology in-house” |
| Extended | 5 months | 5 | “Deploy the full potential of organoid technology” |
All three include end-to-end support and help centre access, with in-person training at HUB’s premises offered to licensees. Note what the ladder implies about the difficulty: the shortest engagement HUB offers to get a competent laboratory running its technology is three months and three sessions. Organoid culture is not a protocol you download.
HUB Organoids is now part of the Life Science business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt. That consolidation matters for anyone modelling supplier risk: the organoid technology licence, a major media portfolio and a large reagent catalogue now sit inside one corporate group.
Almost nobody sells you an organoid
This is the finding that most changes a sourcing plan, and it mirrors what we found in engineered contractile tissue.
Crown Bioscience has one of the largest patient-derived organoid platforms in oncology — 14 cancer types, matched organoid and PDX pairs, and a model-derived biobank behind it — and states that its models rest on “proprietary culture methods, built on exclusive Clevers Lab HUB protocols”. What Crown sells is OrganoidXplore, a screening service. You send compounds; you receive efficacy data across a model panel. You do not receive organoids.
Molecular Devices sells the opposite half and still not a model: a custom organoid line expansion service built on the Cellesce bioprocess, described as patent-pending with the potential to produce tens of millions of quality-controlled organoids. That is manufacturing scale-up applied to a line you already have and are already permitted to use. It is arguably the most strategically interesting capability in this directory — organoid production as a contract operation rather than a bench skill — and it presupposes you have solved the licensing question before you call.
HUB’s own biobank will sell to academics for basic research and requires commercial buyers to license first.
So the actual routes to having an organoid in your own incubator are: be an academic and buy from the biobank; take a licence and grow your own from tissue; buy an iPSC-derived organoid from a vendor whose technology sits outside the adult stem cell patents; or buy a narrower engineered epithelial product like Altis RepliGut that is sold as a product rather than a platform.
The iPSC-derived route, priced
Cell Applications is the clearest example of the alternative route, and the pricing pattern is familiar from the rest of this market: the biology is quote-gated, the consumables around it are not.
| Item | Catalogue | Price (live-verified 2026-09-01) |
|---|---|---|
| DISCUS-111 i-HH Gel Kit (hepatocyte organoid) | DISC1053K | $79.00 |
| DISCUS i-HAEpC2 Gel Kit (alveolar organoid) | DISC1054K | $72.00 |
| DISCUS Dissolution Reagent | DISC1050 | $37.00 |
| i-HAEpC2 Growth Medium Kit | i51103K-100 | $192.00 |
| AEC2 / i-HAEpC2 Medium | i51103-100 | $168.00 |
| i-HAEpC2 Wash Buffer | 077-25 | $72.00 |
| Human iPSC-derived hepatocyte i-HH media | — | $93.00 |
| Human iPSC-derived hepatic stellate cell i-HHSC medium | i7117-500 | $125.00 |
| i-HHSC quiescent culture medium kit | i7121K-100 | $125.00 |
The vendor’s stated rationale for the iPSC route is a supply argument rather than a licensing one: primary alveolar type 2 cells harvested from donor lungs are fragile, lose their surfactant-producing phenotype and stop dividing within days, whereas an iPSC-derived organoid maintains a stable functional human phenotype for long periods. For liver, they claim adult marker expression, bile canaliculi formation and apical-basolateral polarity from self-organisation, enabling chronic rather than acute toxicity testing.
Cell Applications also names the regulatory driver explicitly: the FDA’s 10 April 2025 Roadmap to Reducing Animal Testing in Preclinical Safety Studies. That announcement is doing a great deal of work in this category’s marketing, and it is reasonable to expect supply, pricing and licensing terms to move in response to it over the next two years.
The matrix problem is not a detail
Every organoid protocol in this directory depends on a matrix, and the matrix is the least controlled variable in the entire workflow. STEMCELL’s published IntestiCult protocol names Corning Matrigel growth-factor-reduced, phenol-red-free, in Costar 24-well plates — a specific, branded, lot-varying biological product derived from mouse sarcoma.
The 2025 Advanced Science review of Matrigel alternatives exists because this is a recognised problem rather than a preference: a matrix containing laminin, collagen IV, growth factors including EGF and IGF-1, matrix metalloproteinases and cytokines, at concentrations that vary between lots, is an uncontrolled input sitting underneath every result.
Two consequences for sourcing:
- Qualify matrix lots the way you would qualify cells. Reserve a single lot for a programme, and treat a lot change as a protocol change requiring re-validation.
- Substitutes are not interchangeable. WiCell’s own guidance — supplier-neutral, and the clearest we found — is that Cultrex can be used interchangeably with Matrigel in their protocols, that Geltrex would need to be optimised, and that defined matrices such as vitronectin or laminin may need a ROCK inhibitor for attachment.
The full treatment, including defined synthetic alternatives with specified stiffness, is in hydrogel and ECM suppliers.
What we would ask before committing to an organoid programme
- Adult stem cell-derived or iPSC-derived — and therefore whose patents apply.
- Whether a technology licence is required for your intended use, and whether your use counts as in-house commercial. Ask before the first purchase, not after the first result.
- What the licence permits regarding derivatives, publications and downstream products.
- Whether the supplier sells the physical model or only a result generated from it.
- Which matrix the model was established and released on, and whether you must use the same one.
- Which medium, and whether it is available from more than one source.
- Passage number at supply, and how many passages the model is characterised as stable across.
- Whether the model is cryopreservable and recoverable at your site, or must be maintained continuously from receipt.
- For patient-derived models: the donor consent scope, because it constrains use independently of the technology licence.
- Whether expansion capacity exists if the programme succeeds — scaling an organoid line is a specialist operation, not a bigger flask.
Related pages
For ready-to-use 3D tissue that is not an organoid and carries none of this licensing structure, see 3D tissue model suppliers and liver microtissues and spheroids. For the underlying pluripotent line position, iPSC line suppliers. For the commercialisation question in general, cell line licensing for commercial use.
We maintain this directory because we broker across it. We hold no licence from HUB Organoids, no reseller agreement with any organisation listed, and no financial interest in which route you pick. If your programme needs a technology licence, that is a conversation with the holder — we will tell you so plainly rather than route you to whoever is easiest to quote.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these. Accessed on or before 2026-09-01.
- HUB Organoids — license program, licence package structure, tech transfer tiers and the four-pillar IP portfolio, fetched live 2026-09-01 https://www.huborganoids.nl/licenses/
- HUB Organoids — company overview and Merck KGaA ownership statement https://www.huborganoids.nl/
- Hubrecht Organoid Biobank Foundation — technology basis, academic versus commercial purchase routes, fetched live 2026-09-01 https://www.hubrechtorganoidbiobank.org/technology/
- Crown Bioscience — OrganoidXplore organoid screening service and cancer type coverage https://www.crownbio.com/organoidxplore
- Crown Bioscience — patient-derived organoid models built on exclusive Clevers Lab HUB protocols, fetched live 2026-09-01 https://www.crownbio.com/model-systems/in-vitro/organoids
- Molecular Devices — launch of a custom organoid line expansion service using the Cellesce bioprocess https://www.moleculardevices.com/newsroom/news/molecular-devices-launches-custom-organoid-line-expansion-service-using-unique-bioprocess-technology-for-high-throughput-applications
- Molecular Devices — acquisition of Cellesce patient-derived organoid technology https://www.moleculardevices.com/newsroom/news/proprietary-patient-derived-organoid-technology-with-acquisition-of-cellesce
- STEMCELL Technologies — IntestiCult Organoid Growth Medium (Human) product page and protocol https://www.stemcell.com/products/intesticult-organoid-growth-medium-human.html
- STEMCELL Technologies — culturing cancer-derived organoids using IntestiCult, published passage and forskolin swelling data https://www.stemcell.com/culturing-cancer-derived-organoids-using-intesticult-organoid-growth-medium-human.html
- Cell Applications Inc — iPSC-derived hepatocyte and alveolar epithelial organoids on the DISCUS 3D system, prices queried live 2026-09-01 https://cellapplications.com
- RIKEN BioResource Research Center — published distribution fee schedule including organoids as a resource class, fetched live 2026-09-01 https://cell.brc.riken.jp/en/guide/fee
- Altis Biosystems — RepliGut human intestinal epithelium products and custom services https://altisbiosystems.com/
- Wolff et al. (2025), Rethinking Matrigel: The Complex Journey to Matrix Alternatives in Organoid Culture, Advanced Science https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12713094/
rev 2026-09-01 · research use only · list prices are supplier-published and change without notice · not a quotation